To earn an initial educator license in Arkansas, candidates must complete professional development requirements as established by the Arkansas Department of Education. As of September 1, 2014, candidates must submit evidence of completing the following professional development requirements:
- Identifying and Reporting Child Maltreatment (Act 1236 of 2011) – 2 hours
- Parental Involvement – 2 hours (Note: You will need to complete 2 or more modules to earn the required 2 hours credit)
- Gatekeepers: Youth Suicide Prevention Awareness – 2.5 hours
- Identification of Students at Risk for Dyslexia and Related Disorders – 1 hour
All four of these professional development requirements may be completed through the ArkansasIDEAS website. To access this site, follow the link below. On your first visit, create an account. For more information about creating your account and using the ArkansasIDEAS portal, click here.
(NOTE: The site has been recently updated. If you created an account before June 1, 2015, you will need to create a new account. To access certificates from the previous system, click here and enter the username and password you originally created.)
Upon successful completion of each module, print or save the certificate that indicates your name, the number of hours for the module, and the title of the module.
- For undergraduate candidates, these certificates are due when specified by your field experience coordinator (Mrs. Voegele or Mrs. Farris) and should be turned in at that time.
- MAT candidates can email or deliver these certificates to the MAT office or to the MAT coordinator (Mrs. Thompson).
- Candidates completing graduate programs (e.g. initial license school counseling, school psychology, and speech pathology) should submit these certificates with the license application at the completion of the program of study. More information about educator licenses for graduate students is available here.
For more information, contact Sundae Fowler.
Location: Mashburn Hall, Room 121
Telephone: (501) 852-0922