Faculty Handbook Committee


The charge of the Faculty Handbook Committee shall be to (a) review the Faculty Handbook, (b) accept and consider suggestions for changes, and (c) recommend any revisions, modifications or amendments to the President. Suggestions for the improvement of the Faculty Handbook shall be made in writing and directed to the Office of the Provost. The committee shall meet in the month of September each year, and may meet at such other times as the Provost or chair of the committee may determine. Each member shall be provided with reasonable advance written notice of the date, time and place of each meeting, and be provided with drafts of any proposed changes for consideration at the meeting. Any proposed revisions or amendments to this Faculty Handbook shall be voted upon by the committee. Such revisions or recommendations shall be forwarded to the Faculty Senate for its review and recommendations. The revisions and the advice of the Faculty Senate on such revisions shall then be forwarded to the President.

Annual Report and Presentation: The Faculty Senate requests that this committee provide a written report to the Faculty Senate by April 15 of each year. This report should summarize the body´s activities during the prior year, provide appropriate statistics and data, and outline long-range planning for the following year. This report should be approved by the membership of the committee. The chair of this committee shall contact the President of the Faculty Senate to schedule a presentation to the full Senate by this same date.

Any revisions to this Faculty Handbook shall be made only upon the written recommendation of the President to the Boards of Trustees, and thereafter adoption by the Board of Trustees of a resolution setting for the revisions.


The committee shall be composed of (i) the Provost (or an Associate Provost designated by the Provost), (ii) the immediate past president of the Faculty Senate who will serve as chair, and (iii) one tenured faculty member from each college of the University selected by the tenured faculty from such college, and to serve for a three year term. The current president of the Faculty Senate, the vice president for administration, the associate vice president for human resources and the General Counsel of the University shall also be members of the Faculty Handbook Committee, but shall not have a vote.


Member Term Title
Charles Watson 2015 Immediate Past President of Faculty Senate, Chair
Steve Runge Permanent Provost
Stephanie Huffman (ED) 2016
Stephanie Vanderslice (FAC) 2015
Barbara Williams (HBS) 2017
Michael Shaefer (LA) 2017
Michael Ruback (BUS) 2016
Lori Isom (NSM) 2017
Don Bradley President of Faculty Senate, (Ex-Officio)
Diane Newton Vice-President for Administration (Ex-Officio)
Graham Gillis Associate Vice-President for Human Resources (Ex-Officio)
Warren Readnour General Counsel (Ex-Officio)


Reports to: President

Send minutes to: Faculty Senate President

Last Updated: 9/12/2014