Prevention and Wellness Guest Lecture

by Dr. Robert Conyne on Thursday, Apr 14, 1:40-2:30 pm in MAS 202.

UCA Counseling Psychology Roundtable

“Counseling for Prevention and Wellness” will be presented by Dr. Robert Conyne on Firday, Apr 15, 9-12 in MAS 103.

Students Receive Psi Chi Grants

Lindsay Hobson received a $1,500 Psi Chi Undergraduate Research grant for her project titled “Memory for Missing Parts of Witnessed Events”.
Tyler Ramsey was also awarded a 2015-16 Spring Undergraduate Research Grant for $370 from Psi Chi. His project is titled “Pornography’s Effect on Relationship Commitment and the Reward System.”
Seven students (Lauren Brown, Savannah Cavender, Christina Clark, Emily Hahn, Lindsay Hobson, Sarah Lindeman, and Tiffany Wierzbicki) were selected to receive $370 in travel funding from Psi Chi for the upcoming SWPA conference.
That’s just over $4,000 in support from Psi Chi for our student research. Congrats to all!

Finalists announced for Annual Outstanding Psychology Student Award

Congratulations to three undergraduate PSYC majors for being the finalists for this year’s Richard Scott Outstanding Psychology Student Award. All three will win cash awards and the winner will be announced in April. The finalists are Ivana Ilic, Rebecca Stallmann, and Kelli Wierzbicki. Congrats to all three.

Melanie Jones awarded APA Fellowship

Congratulations to Melanie Jones, a student in the Mental Health Counseling program, for being awarded a $6,000 Services for Transition Age Youth (STAY) Fellowship by the American Psychological Association Minority Fellowship Program. This is a nationally competitive program.
Way to go, Melanie!
More information about the STAY Fellowship is below and can be found at

Psyc Major selected as Outstanding Student for the College of Health & Behavioral Sciences

Mollie Henager (one of our senior majors) has been selected as this year’s Outstanding Student for the College of Health and Behavioral Sciences. She will be recognized at Spring Commencement ceremony on April 30th.

Congrats to Mollie!!

Luke Sandlin Awarded Scholarship

Luke Sandlin, a student in the Mental Health Counseling program, has been awarded the National Association of Junior Auxiliaries (NAJA) Scholarship.

Begun in 1962, the NAJA Scholarship Program has awarded more than 530 grants totaling over $1,203,859 for graduate study in fields that address the special needs of children and youth. This grant helps fund graduate expenses for students planning to work directly with children and youth in fields such as mental health counseling, speech pathology, special education, etc.

Congratulations Luke!

Congrats to Dr. Michael Watson

Michael Watson successfully defended his dissertation on March 14 – congratulations Dr WATSON!

De’Von Patterson Accepts Internship

De’Von Patterson, doctoral student in School Psychology, has accepted a post-doctoral fellowship in Southern California. Congrats De’Von!

Dr. John Murphy Receives Award from State Mental Health Association

Today, Dr. John Murphy, Professor of Psychology and Counseling, is being honored by the Arkansas Mental Health in Education Association (ARMEA) with the 2016 ARMEA School Based Mental Health Advocate Award (recognizing cumulative contributions to the practice of school-based mental health in Arkansas).

Congratulations to Dr. Murphy on this honor!