Faculty Fellows Program

UCA’s Service-Learning Faculty Fellows Program is a campus-wide initiative that includes commitments from the President’s and Provost’s offices, the Center for Teaching Excellence, the Division of Outreach and Community Engagement, and the academic colleges.

The Faculty Fellows Program provides faculty an in-depth professional development opportunity to learn how to successfully integrate service into their curricula and ultimately serve as advocates for service-learning at UCA. Dr. Lorrie George-Paschal, Faculty Liaison for Service-Learning, and Dr. Amy Hawkins, Director of the Center for Teaching Excellence, facilitate the faculty fellows seminar.

What is the Service-Learning Faculty Fellows seminar?

  • UCA’s Service-Learning Faculty Fellows seminar is an intensive seminar held weekly during a summer term, meeting three days per week. Faculty should expect to spend an equivalent amount of time in the faculty fellows seminar as teaching a three credit hour summer course. It will be similar to a graduate seminar with readings, regular meetings, and work in the community related to service-learning development.
  • The seminar is designed to benefit faculty who wish to explore service-learning as a pedagogical tool in an intensive, in-depth manner, with the intent of implementing it into a specific academic course.
  • It is an opportunity for faculty to discuss teaching, learning, and application of service-learning and civic engagement at UCA in an interdisciplinary manner connecting faculty from all colleges on campus.
  • Faculty who participate in service-learning receive a summer stipend at the adjunct pay rate ($2,692).
  • It is recommended that faculty not teach a course during the term of the seminar given the time requirements of participation.

Be a part of the Faculty Fellows Program!

Applications for the 2020 Faculty Fellows Program are due by February 21st, 2020. The 2020 Faculty Fellows Program will take place during May Intersession. The Application Form is available online at https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/slfacultyfellows.

2013-2014 Inaugural Class

  • Candice Barnes, Early Childhood Education
  • Doug Corbitt, Philosophical Studies
  • Sophie Dix, Writing
  • Michael Gallagher, Kinesiology and Physical Education
  • Lorrie George-Paschal, Occupational Therapy
  • Michael Haddigan, Writing
  • Amy Hawkins, Communication
  • Kim Little, History
  • Peter Mehl, Philosophy

2014-2015 Class

  • Riva Brown, Communication
  • Sally Entrekin, Biology
  • Tanya Jeffcoat, Philosophy and Religion
  • Michael Rosenow, History
  • Li Zeng, Art
  • Jia Zhu, World Languages

2015-2016 Class

  • Katherine Bray, Communication
  • Debra Burris, Physics
  • Sonya Fritz, English
  • Desmond Jones, Sociology
  • Katelyn Knox, French
  • John Saunders, Communication
  • Tucker Staley, Political Science

2016-2017 Class

  • Nelle Bedner, Communication
  • Denise Demers, Health Sciences
  • Amber Files, Nursing
  • Adam Frank, Honors
  • TJ Hendrix, Teaching and Learning
  • Mary Pearson, Elementary, Literacy and Special Education
  • Sherry Skaggs, Sociology, Criminology, and Anthropology

2017-2018 Class

  • Buck Foster, History
  • Staci Fritzges, Communication
  • Kristin Okoli, Languages, Linguistics, Literatures and Cultures
  • Pretrescia Walker, Nursing
  • Jeff Whittingham, Teaching and Learning
  • Mary Wood, University College

2018-2019 Class

  • Taine Duncan, Philosophy and Religion
  • Annette Gartman, Nursing
  • Carl Olds, Department of Student Transitions
  • Zachary Smith, History
  • Sunny Styles-Foster, Teaching and Learning

2019-2020 Class

  • Cristine Busser, Writing
  • Kathryn Carroll, Family and Consumer Sciences
  • Clayton Crockett, Philosophy and Religion
  • TK Gault, Teaching and Learning
  • Monica Lieblong, Family and Consumer Sciences
  • Amanda Martin, Department of Student Transitions
  • Ashley Phillips, Accounting
  • Alana Reid, Spanish