The Burdick/McAlister Scholarship

The Burdick/McAlister Scholarship Fund was created in 2001 by Dr. and Mrs. Alger Burdick. Dr. Burdick was the second chair of the Department of Geography. This scholarship is for full-time students majoring in geography or business and who are citizens of the United States. Entering freshmen eligibility: ACT of 24 or above and high school grade point average of 2.75 or above. Current student eligibility: 2.75 or above cumulative grade point average. Consideration is given to financial need. Contact the UCA Foundation at 450-5859 or HERE to go to their Website.

The Abney-Bradley Scholarship

This is an academic scholarship that honors two former geography majors who passed away while attending UCA or soon after graduation from UCA: Billy B. Abney, Jr., from Jacksonville, Arkansas, and Duwayne C. Bradley, from Clinton, Arkansas.

The Abney-Bradley Scholarship is a $500 award presented to a junior geography major at the April Honors Convocation. The money goes toward the student’s tuition. Please contact any geography faculty member for more information about this scholarship.

An application can be viewed and printed from here.

Please donate to the Abney-Bradley Scholarship Fund by following these instructions:

  1. Go to
  2. click on the Giving Online link
  3. fill out your information, click Continue
  4. choose an amount
  5. scroll to find and choose Annual Fund
  6. fill out payment information
  7. in the Comments box, specify that your donation should go to the Department of Geography Development Fund