2016 ACTM State Math Contest

On Saturday, April 23, 2016, the UCA Department of Mathematics hosted the State Mathematics Contest, which is sponsored by the Arkansas Council of Teachers of Mathematics (ACTM). Approximately 350 high school students from public and private school across the state of Arkansas competed in one of six content exams: Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, Trigonometry/Pre-Calculus, Calculus, or Statistics. A list of contest winners in each category can be found on the ACTM page on the Department of Mathematics Web site at http://uca.edu/actm/.

Dr. Charles Watson, associate professor of mathematics, serves as the ACTM contest director. Dr. Linda Griffith, professor of mathematics, is the current president of ACTM. Several mathematics faculty members including Dr. Carolyn Pinchback, Mrs. Loi Booher, and Mrs. Crystal Spellmann and graduate students assisted with the contest.

 1st, 2nd and 3rd  place winners of the contest

1st, 2nd and 3rd place winners of the contest