Alexander Markov To Be UCA Artist-in-Residence

By: Aurora King
Office of Media Relations

The University of Central Arkansas will host Russian American violinist Alexander Markov as artist-in-residence from Thursday, Oct. 27, to Sunday, Oct. 30. 

Alexander Markov

Alexander Markov

Markov will perform alongside students in UCA’s Department of Music at the Conway Symphony Orchestra’s Power, Mystery and Fate concert on Sunday, Oct. 30, from 4-5:30 p.m. at the Reynolds Performance Hall. UCA students can attend for free with their UCA ID. The public can purchase tickets from the Reynolds Box Office or the Conway Symphony Orchestra’s website.

Alexander Markov is not only a world-class violinist, but he’s also a unique musical personality,” said Israel Getzov, music professor and orchestra conductor at UCA. “Our UCA pre-professional musicians will learn a great deal from his instruction, yet it’s the opportunity to perform side-by-side with Markov and the Conway Symphony Orchestra that will truly impact them as artists.”

Presented by the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, Markov will also hold a public recital on Saturday, Oct. 29 from 7:30-9 p.m. in the Snow Fine Arts Recital Hall. 

On Thursday, Oct. 27, Markov will host a presentation and discussion from 1:40-2:30 p.m. at the Snow Fine Arts Recital Hall. Markov will teach a chamber music masterclass from 4-5:30 p.m. and a violin masterclass from 7-9 p.m. the same day as well. 

Markov has appeared as a soloist with some of the world’s most celebrated orchestras including the

Philadelphia Orchestra, the BBC Philharmonic, Orchestre de Paris, The Montreal Symphony, Budapest Festival Orchestra and the Mostly Mozart Festival Orchestra. Markov won the gold medal in the 1982 international Paganini Violin Competition, one of the most important violin competitions for performers ages 15 to 31. 

Markov has performed as a soloist with professional orchestras since he was 8 years old. He discovered and fell in love with rock music in high school and merged it with classical music. Following this passion, Markov co-wrote “The Rock Concerto” with James V. Remington who custom-designed Markov’s gold, six-string electric violin.

 For more information, visit CAHSS artists-in-residence.