Faculty Senate Committees

2022-2023 Faculty Senate Committees


Executive Committee (2022-2023)


  • Kristin Dooley (CNSM)
  • Vaughn Scribner (CAHSS)
  • Amy Thompson (COE)
  • John Gale (CAHSS)
  • Renee Lebeau-Ford (UNAF)


Charge 1:

The Executive Committee consists of the Faculty Senate President, President-Elect, Parliamentarian, and Secretary. The Executive Committee shall make assignments to the other Faculty Senate Committees, serve as an advisory body to the Faculty Senate President, propose recommendations for the Senate’s consideration, propose amendments to the Faculty Association Constitution, and make recommendations on the by-laws of the Faculty Senate.

Committee on Committees (2021-2022):

Chair: Kristin Dooley, VP/President-Elect of Faculty Senate

Members (1 each academic college + 1 unaffiliated):

Charge 1:

Identify faculty interested to serve on university level committees as appropriate and submit those names to the Faculty Senate. Work with academic colleges and unaffiliated faculty to fill other vacancies on university level committees. Work with the Faculty Handbook Committee on any inconsistencies in committees.


Academic Affairs Committee (2021-2022):

Chair: John Gale (CAHSS)


  • Jeff Hill (COB)
  • Deanna Rice (COE)
  • Denise Demers (CHBS)
  • Ben Cash (CNSM)
  • Amy Baldwin (UNAF
  • Phillip Spivey (At-Large)


Review the proposal from the High Impact Practices Subcommittee of the Council for Student Success regarding revision of the First-Year Seminar program. Work with the Momentum Year Taskforce to provide analysis and feedback in consultation with each college’s/unit’s constituents. Ensuring that the Senator from each college/unit is communicating information about the Momentum Year and First-Year Seminar back to their constituents will be a key aspect of this committee. The committee will provide a recommendation about the place of the First-Year Seminar in the undergraduate curriculum and the UCA Core. Additionally, the committee will provide recommendations for the composition of the FYS Advisory Committee, the description of the role of First-Year Seminar Coordinator, and the creation/support of an FYS Peer Mentoring Program. Changes and suggestions should be incorporated into a final recommendation that can come forward to the full Faculty Senate for support in the spring semester.


Faculty Affairs Committee (2021-2022):

Chair: David Keith (At-Large)


  • Cokey Allen (CAHSS)
  • Anthony McMullen (COB)
  • Amy Thompson (COE)
  • Thomas Lowder (CHBS)
  • Bernard Chen (CNSM)
  • Carl Olds (UNAF)


Review the Faculty Senate Constitution and By-Laws for vague language and to clean up any inconsistencies that might exist. Consider any language that might need to be updated due to new options provided by technology. Make any suggestions for language that may need to be added to meet or reflect current Faculty Senate operations. Bring revisions to the Faculty Senate for consideration by the end of the fall semester. Coordinate faculty voting process to pass revisions in the spring semester. Ensure all changes are forwarded to the Faculty Handbook committee for inclusion to be approved at the May Board of Trustees meeting.


Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee (2021-2022):

Co-Chairs: Charlotte Parham (COE) and Lori Isom (CNSM)


  • Vaughn Scribner (CAHSS)
  • Vance Lewis (COB)
  • Holly Langster (CHBS)
  • Ellen Hostetter (UNAF)
  • Adele Okoli (At-Large)


Develop a menu of options or recommendations for faculty to consider if they would like to create a more inclusive syllabus. Such suggestions could include but are not limited to possible language for a diversity statement, guidance on creating a more accessible syllabus, and examples of inclusive pedagogy. Possible collaborations could include but are not limited to the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Academic Leadership, Disability Resource Center, and the Office of Diversity and Inclusion. Prepare a report to bring forward to the full Faculty Senate in the spring semester for endorsement from the Faculty Senate.