Faculty Senators 2019-2020

The Faculty Senate is one of the primary institutions for effective faculty governance and represents more than 550 faculty at UCA.

There are twenty-seven senators, three elected from each of the six academic colleges, three elected at-large from the entire faculty, three elected from unaffiliated, and one representing part-time faculty. The four Senate officers are elected by the Senate itself, with senators elected to replace the president and president-elect in their respective colleges.

Faculty Senate

Officers

President
Candice Dowd Barnes, COE
Elementary, Literacy, & Special Education
Mashburn Hall, 135
cbarnes@uca.edu
450-5461

Vice President
Jen Talbot, CFAC
Writing
Thompson Hall, 318
jtalbot@uca.edu
450-5613

Secretary/Treasurer
Katherine Willis, CLA
English
Irby Hall 317D
kwillis@uca.edu
450-5100

Parliamentarian
Thomas Lowder, CHBS
Exercise Science
Farris Center, 101
tlowder@uca.edu
450-5713

Senators

College of Business Administration
Vance Lewis (2021)
Marketing and Management
vlewis@uca.edu
852-0752

Anthony McMullen (2019)
Accounting
amcmullen@uca.edu
852-0695

David McCalman (2020)
Marketing and Management
davidm@uca.edu
450-5342

College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Bernard Chen (2021)
Computer Science
bchen@uca.edu
450-3308

Ben Cash (2022)
Biology
wbcash@uca.edu
852-0968

Krista Peppers (2020)
Biology
kpeppers@uca.edu
450-5834

College of Liberal Arts
Katherine Willis (2021)
English
kwillis@uca.edu
450-5105

Phillip Spivey (2022)
Philosophy and Religion
pspivey@uca.edu
450-3690

Roger Pauly (2020)
History
rpauly@uca.edu
450-5618

College of Education
Charlotte Green (2022)
Leadership Studies
crgreen@uca.edu
852-2910

Rachelle Miller  (2020)
Teaching and Learning
rmiller@uca.edu
852-0030

Deborah Dailey (2021)
Teaching and Learning
ddailey@uca.edu 
852-0920

College of Fine Arts and Communications
John Gale (2021)
Film, Theatre, & Creative Writing
jgale@uca.edu
852-2325

Brantley Douglas (2019)
School of Music
bdouglas@uca.edu
450-5022

**Vacant (2020) pending special election

College of Health and Behavioral Sciences
**Vacant (2021) pending special election

Denise Demers (2022)
Health Sciences
denised@uca.edu
852-2654

Thomas Lowder (2020)
Exercise and Sport Science
tlowder@uca.edu
450-5713

At-Large Senators
Brent Shires, CFAC (2021)
Music
bshires@uca.edu
450-5768

David Keith (2022)
Journalism
dkeith@uca.edu
852-2912

Steven Forbush, CHBS (2020)
Physical Therapy
sforbush@uca.edu
450-5554

Unaffiliated Senators
Cindy Lea  (2021)
Honors College
clea@uca.edu
450-3629

Carl Olds (2022)
Residential College
carlo@uca.edu
852-2683

*Amber Wilson (2020)
Library
amberc@uca.edu
450-3236

Senator for Part-Time Faculty
To be elected Fall 2019


* Indicates senators serving second consecutive term and are thus term limited.

** Indicates senators filling out remaining portions of another term. They can run 2 more times.

Last updated: May 15, 2018