Department holds the 2021 Pi Sigma Alpha induction ceremony

The Department of Political Science held a virtual induction ceremony for the Alpha Beta Theta Chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society, on April 8, 2021.  Dr. Clay Arnold, Chair of the UCA Department of Political Science, announced the 2019-2020 inductees, including Andrey Archer, Caitlin Campbell, Gwendolyn Daniels, Dylan Garrison, Margaret (Greta) Hacker, Emily Kaucher, Colton King, Matthew Law, Abby Mattingly, Lauren McHenry, Bailey Morgan, Mylon Boston, Kennedy Neely, Jackson Rouse, Zoe Tollette, Louisa Utley, Amy Vedder, and Booker (Trey) White.  Dr. Arnold also announced the 2020-2021 inductees, including Aaron Conrad, Emma Davis, Taylor Farmer, Michael Frost, Javier Hernandez, Michael Langley, Ron Latina, Cara Looney, Tanner Standridge, Vanessa Rogers-Wright, and Logan Smedley.  Dr. Heather Yates served as faculty advisor for the chapter, and Lauren McHenry served as president of the chapter in 2020-2021.  Speakers included Mr. Sean Twonbly, Executive Director of the Pi Sigma Alpha National Chapter; UCA President Houston Davis; and Dr. Tom Williams, Dean of the College of the Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences.

The Department of Political Science recognized the 2021 Distinguished Alumnus and Keynote Speaker, Mr. Curtis Barnett, Chief Executive Officer of Arkansas Blue Cross and Blue Shield.  Mr. Barnett graduated from UCA with a degree in political science in 1986.  The department also honored the 2020-2021 Outstanding Students: International Studies – Abby Mattingly, Oluwatunmise Sodiya, and Vito Whitmore; Public Administration – Margaret (Greta) Hacker, Amy Vedder, and Booker (Trey) White; and Political Science – Lauren McHenry.

Curtis Barnett