Dr. Nancy Reese

Dr. Nancy Reese, professor and chairperson of the University of Central Arkansas Department of Physical Therapy, was recently named a 2019 recipient of the Catherine Worthingham Fellow Award by the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA). She will be honored at APTA’s NEXT 2019 Conference and Exposition in Chicago June 12-15.

UCA faculty responded to the news with many heartfelt congratulations, describing the award as “an awesome achievement,” “well deserved” and an “incredible honor for an outstanding person.”

“Dr. Reese is a recognized leader in APTA, having served as president and treasurer as well as chief delegate for the Arkansas Physical Therapy Association,” said Dr. Bill Bandy, a professor in the UCA Department of Physical Therapy. “She has been a long-term member of the Education Section, the Health Policy and Administration Section, the Neurology Section and the Private Practice Section. She served as treasurer of the Education Section and treasurer of the Academic Council of the APTA simultaneously, among her many other roles. Her leadership at UCA and in the APTA are exemplary. The fact that Dr. Reese is the first physical therapist in Arkansas to earn this honor is quite an achievement for her, as well as for UCA.”

Reese is also a past president of the Arkansas Chapter of the APTA, and she currently serves on the board of the American Council of Academic Physical Therapy (ACAPT) as treasurer. She has been the chairperson of the UCA Department of Physical Therapy since 2004, a member of the faculty since 1986 and a member of the APTA since 1980. Her published works include numerous articles, book chapters and two textbooks, each in their third edition.

The Catherine Worthingham Fellows of the American Physical Therapy Association, the association’s highest membership category, serves as inspiration for all physical therapists to attain professional excellence. This honor is eligible to American Physical Therapy Association members or life-member physical therapists who have demonstrated unwavering efforts to advance the physical therapy profession for more than 15 years, prior to the time of nomination.

For more information, contact Amanda Hoelzeman at (501) 852-2659 or ahoelzeman@uca.edu.