Student and program honored at regional theatre festival

Sharos, SaraUCA Theatre major, Sara Sharos of Bentonville, was awarded the Society for Properties, Artisans, and Managers award for her properties design of UCA Theatre’s production of A Lovely Sunday for Creve Coeur at the Region VI Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF)which was recently held in Shreveport, Louisiana at Centenary College.

Ms. Sharos’ display and research was one of several property design displays submitted to the festival for recognition from the Region VI area which includes colleges and universities from Arkansas, Texas, Oklahoma, Louisiana, Missouri and New Mexico.

In addition, the cast of The Caucasian Chalk Circle was invited to perform the final scene from the play at the festival as part of its Night of Invited Scenes. The play was produced by UCA Theatre in November, 2013 and directed by Rebekah Scallet. It was responded to by a member of the KCACTF response team and was one of only twelve scenes asked to participate from the six state region. Students participating in the performance were Hannah Moulder, Geneva Galloway, Jordyn Daniels, Madison Ledbetter, Abby Saveall, Keith Hudson, Austin Brown, Schafer Bourne, Tanner Dean, Frank Hunter and Brent Welch.

Five students and their acting partners were chosen to participate in the Irene Ryan Scholarship Competition during the festival. This competition was established by the late Irene Ryan, best known for her portrayal of Granny on The Beverly Hillbillies. Students from UCA chosen to participate were Hannah Moulder, Geneva Galloway, Schafer Bourne, Tanner Dean, and Brent Welch. Acting partners for the competition were Haley Tynes, Karina Martinez, Jordyn Daniels, Abby Saveall and Keith Hudson.

Other students attending submitted technical theatre projects and included Josh Anderson, lighting design for Spring Awakening, Haley Tynes, costume design for The Caucasian Chalk Circle, and Daniel Lynn for properties design for an unrealized production of Jerry and Tom.

The students were accompanied to the festival by faculty members Rebekah Scallet, Shauna C. Meador, and Greg Blakey.