Kristy Carter to receive award at MED Gala



SEPTEMBER 10, 2013

CONTACT: Jeff Pitchford, vice president for university and government relations, at or (501) 450-3185.

Fredricka Sharkey, associate director for media relations, at or (501) 450 -5114.


Kristy_Carter_headshot_1CONWAY—The Conway Area Chamber of Commerce will award Kristy Carter, executive director for the Division of Outreach and Community Engagement, the Advocate for Opportunity Award during the Minority Enterprise Development awards gala at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, September 12 in McCastlain Hall.

The Advocate for Opportunity Award recognizes an individual, organization or business that has demonstrated significant accomplishments in educating and advocating for minority business enterprise.

“I am very happy to be recognized for this honor. It is my intention, through the work that I do at Outreach and Community Engagement, to advocate, forge new relationships, and provide opportunities for minority small business owners and entrepreneurs to participate in our outreach programs and engage with the university. It means the world to me to receive an award of this distinction,” said Carter.

In addition to her role at UCA, Carter is an executive board member for the Arkansas Distance Learning Association. She also is past president of the Arkansas Council of Women in Higher Education and state coordinator for the Women in Higher Education’s national office. She is a member of the Arkansas Community Development Society and a member of Central Baptist College’s Business Advisory Council.

“Kristy Carter is being recognized for the commitment she brings to the area of minority business development. Her passion for this work is known to all,” said Gilbert Baker, executive assistant to the president.

The chamber established the MED committee to foster growth and sustainability of minority businesses and as a way to recognize minority businesses and their supporters. Darrin Williams, CEO of Southern Bancorp, will be the keynote speaker for the MED awards.

For more information about the awards ceremony, visit