52nd Arkansas Model United Nations (AMUN) conference held at UCA

The UCA Department of Political Science sponsored the 52nd Arkansas Model United Nations (AMUN) conference at the University of Central Arkansas on November 17-18, 2017.  More than 500 delegates from 25 high schools in Arkansas, Missouri, and Tennessee participated in the conference.  Carolyn Casey served as Secretary-General, and Alex Battaglia served as Deputy Secretary-General of the conference.  Dr. Mark Mullenbach, Associate Professor of Political Science, served as AMUN Coordinator, and Stephanie Gray served as Assistant AMUN Coordinator.  Dr. Marl Elrod, Instructor in the Department of Political Science, served as Coordinator of the Model International Court of Justice (MICJ), and Kayla Close served as Deputy Secretary-General and Coordinator of the Novice General Assembly Committees.  During the opening session held in Ida Waldran Auditorium in Main Hall on Friday, November 17th, three students addressed the assembled delegates, including Mohammed Abuelem (France) of Pulaski Academy, Ana Estrada (Brazil) of Haas Hall Academy-Fayetteville, and Anushka Yadava (Egypt) of Little Rock Central High School.  The delegation representing France (Pulaski Academy) was presented the Outstanding Delegation award during the closing session on Saturday, November 19th.  The delegations representing Brazil (Haas Hall Academy-Fayetteville) and Sweden (Haas Hall Academy-Fayetteville) were presented the Outstanding Delegation Runner-Up awards during the closing session.