Left to Right: Kelsey Sherwood, Joniya Flowers Loida Mundo, Shalexis Shelton, Tykira Bullins

Who we are:

We are a fun-loving group of OT students who embrace diversity, appreciate different perspectives, strive for cultural competency, and value professional development. If this sounds like you, then join us! Membership is open to all UCA OT students and SPOT members.


The purpose of SCDOT (Student Caucus for Diversity in Occupational Therapy) is to act as an advocate for occupational therapy underrepresented student groups in order to enhance and promote their contributions to the occupational therapy profession at the local, regional, and national levels as well as to promote cultural competency among occupational therapy students when working with underrepresented or underserved client populations. This includes fostering participation in Students for Pre-Occupational Therapy (SPOT), Student Occupational Therapy Association (SOTA), Pi Theta Epsilon (PTE), Arkansas Occupational Therapy Association (AROTA), and American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA).


The major objectives of SCDOT are to:

  • Facilitate and support the recruitment, retention, and certification of underrepresented student groups in the occupational therapy program.
  • Identify and address issues and concerns that impact the matriculation of underrepresented student groups in the OTprogram.
  • Foster representation and participation by diverse and underrepresented students and practitioners in the occupational therapy profession and specifically in student, state, and national associations.
  • Encourage and develop diverse leaders and role models for the OT profession at the college, local, state, and national levels.
  • Increase communication and cultural competency among all OT students, practitioners, educators, and applicants.
  • Promote equal opportunities in employment and education for all OT practitioners and students.
  • Promoting contextually relevant practice emphasizing quality and equity in health care and occupational therapy for consumers of various backgrounds including but not limited to ethnic, racial, cultural, education, spiritual, and socioeconomic status.

2022 Officers

President – Kelsey Sherwood
Vice President – Joniya Flowers
Secretary – Loida Mundo
Treasurer – Tykira Bullins
Historian/PR – Shalexis Shelton

Spring 2022 Meetings:

All meetings will occur on the 2nd Tuesday of every month. Meeting locations TBD.