2016 Program

Conference Agenda

70th Annual Meeting of the National Conference of Academic Deans

“Meeting the Needs of Today’s Students”
July 14 -15, 2016
Hosted by the University of Central Arkansas
Conway, Arkansas
Thursday, July 14, 2016

9:30am  Registration @ Brewer-Hegeman Conference Center (University of Central Arkansas)

10:00am  Welcome

Dr. Kurt Boniecki, Conference Host, Associate Provost, University of Central Arkansas
Dr. Christ Boyett, Program Co-Chair, Vice Chancellor, Arkansas State University – Heber Springs
Dr. Roger Schultz, Program Co-Chair, Dean, Liberty University

10:30am  Concurrent Sessions (choose one)

(1.) New Deans Seminar
Moderator: Dr. Victoria Groves-Scott, Dean, University of Central Arkansas

(2.) Associate Deans & Chairs Seminar
Moderator: Dr. Nicole Walters, Associate Dean, University of St. Thomas.

11:30am  Panel Discussion: The Long View of the Deanship

Dr. Neil Hattlestad, Dean Emeritus, University of Central Arkansas
Dr. Calvin Johnson, Chancellor Emeritus, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
Dr. Angela Sewall, Emeritus Dean and Professor, University of Arkansas at Little Rock

12:30pm  Luncheon and Keynote: Generation NeXt Goes to Work

Dr. Mark Taylor, Speaker and Consultant, TaylorPrograms.com

1:30pm  Generational Differences in Students

Dr. Mark Taylor, Speaker and Consultant, TaylorPrograms.com

2:30pm   Concurrent Sessions (choose one)

(1.) NSSE Initiatives and Student Success
Dr. Roger Schultz, Dean, Liberty University

(2.) Community College Survey of Student Engagement (CCSSE)
Dr. Linda Garcia, Assistant Director, Center for Community College Student Engagement, The University of Texas at Austin

3:30 pm  Case Studies in Academic Leadership

Facilitator: Dr. Jimmy Ishee, Dean, University of Central Arkansas

4:30pm  Brief Reflections and Reminders for Friday

5:30pm  Reception – Drinks, Hors d’oeuvres, Music and Networking @ UCA Downtown, 1105 Oak Street, Conway

Friday, July 15, 2016

7:15am   Breakfast @ Brewer-Hegeman Conference Center (UCA)

7:30am  2017 Conference Planning Committee

8:30am  Concurrent Sessions (choose one)

(1.) Faith Based Colleges and Mission Focus
Moderator: Dr. Kevin Clauson, Vice President of Academics, Bryan College
Panelists: Dr. Robert Norwood, Associate Vice President, John Brown University
Dr. J. Warren Casey, Dean, Harding University

(2.) The State of State Institutions
Moderator: Dr. Judy Fellows, Associate Dean, University of Louisiana at Monroe
Panelists: Kim Bradford, Director of Institutional Assurance, University of Arkansas eVersity
David Hough, Dean, Missouri State University

9:30am   Concurrent Sessions (choose one)

(1.) The Interstate Passport
Dr. Jane Sherman, Interstate Passport Initiative Tri-Region Coordinator, Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE)

(2.) The Psychology of the College Transition: Research and Intervention
Dr. Kurt Boniecki, Associate Provost, University of Central Arkansas

10:30am  Concurrent Sessions (choose one)

(1.) Guided Pathways Initiative
Dr. Dennis Humphrey, Division Chair, Arkansas State University – Beebe
Dr. Richard Counts, Division Chair, Arkansas State University – Beebe
Dr. Ted Kalthoff, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Arkansas State University – Beebe

(2.) PLA with Purpose: A New Vision for Prior Learning Assessment
Dr. Donna Younger, Council for Adult and Experiential Learning

11:30am  Concurrent Sessions (choose one)

(1.) Online Opportunities for Student Service
Dr. Carey Roberts, Associate Dean, Liberty University

(2.) Concurrent Educational Partnerships
Dr. Dianne Johnson, Board Member, National Alliance for Concurrent Enrollment Partnerships

12:30pm Luncheon and Conference Business Meeting

1:30pm  Adjourn