Diversity Committee

Purpose of the Diversity  Advisory Committee: 

{a) review  all policies,programs and offices of the University of Central Arkansas in an effort to promote and maintain a diverse student,faculty and staff population;

{b) develop and present to the Board of Trustees and the President not later than January

31, 2013,{i) a plan and recommendations to increase diversity,including but not limited to,staffing,budget recommendations and program changes,if any,and {ii) recommendations concerning language to be included in University publications, advertisements and other materials on the subject of diversity;

{c) on an annual basis thereafter prepare and file with the Board of Trustees and the Office of the President,an annual report on diversity initiatives with such recommendations  as the committee may deem necessary and advisable;and

{d) under-take such other activities,studies or initiatives as the Committee may,fromtime-to-time, deem necessary or advisable,as well as conduct any other matters within the Committee's jurisdiction as may be requested by the Board of Trustees.

Membership of the Diversity Advisory Committee/Meetings:

• One member of the University's Board of Trustees,appointed by the Board of Trustees

• Two persons appointed by the Board of Trustees,at least one of whom shall be a person holding an administrative position at the University

• Two persons designated as representatives from the Faculty Senate

• Two persons designated as representatives from the Staff Senate

• Two persons designated as representatives from the Student Government Association

• One person designated as the representative from the UCA Alumni Association

• One person designated as the representative from the UCA Foundation,Inc.

The UCA Board member and the representatives from the UCA Alumni Association and the

UCA Foundation shall serve a one-year term on the committee.

All other members shall serve two-year terms,with the initial terms of those persons staggered and drawn by lot at  the first meeting  so that one person from the at-large Board appointees, Faculty Senate,Staff Senate and SGA serves an initial one-year term,and one person from each group serves a two-year term. Thereafter,all terms shall be for two years. Members of the committee may be reappointed.

The committee shall elect its own chair. The committee shall hold at least one meeting in the fall semester and one meeting in the spring semester each year. Special meetings may be called by the Chair,or upon the request of any two (2)  members of the committee. At least two days' notice of any meeting shall be provided to each member.


Member College Title
Victor Green Member, Board of Trustees
Maurice Lee Board of Trustees Appointee
Manny Sepulveda Board of Trustees Appointee
Nancy Gallavan EDU Faculty Senate Appointee
Sandra Luckett FAC Faculty Senate Appointee
Letha Mosely HBS Faculty Senate Appointee
Kay McKinzie BUS Faculty Senate Appointee
Carolyn Pinchback NSM Faculty Senate Appointee
Bi Ling Chen LA Faculty Senate Appointee
Aaron Knight Staff Senate Appointee
Denicha Kemp Staff Senate Appointee
Hershila Lallu SGA Appointee
Ryan Pfaff SGA Appointee
Wale Mohammed Alumni Association Appointee
Xavier Wynn UCA Foundation Appointee

Reports to University President

Last updated on 11/21/2014