Meeting Date: December 3, 2013

**Members Present:** Darshon Anderson, Katie Bruich, Bi-Ling Chen, Jerry Coleman, Nancy Gallavan, Graham Gillis, Greg Hunt, Tiffany Johnson, Aaron Knight, Joslyn Kuykendall, Juan Mayen, Kaye McKinzie, Letha Mosley, Corey Parks, Carolyn Pinchback, Angela Webster-Smith, Ronnie Williams (chair)

**Members Absent:** Orville Abrams, Wendy Lucas (AA), Sandra Luckett, Charlotte Strickland (AA); (*AA: Prior Awareness of Absence*)

**Call to Order:** Chair Ronnie Williams (henceforth referred to as Mr. Williams) called the meeting to order at 1:42 p.m.

**Documents:** Each member present was given a binder which contained:

- A committee member contact sheet
- Board Policy 525
- A copy of the 2010 HLC Report
- A copy of Dr. Kirksey's Report
- A copy of the 2013 Diversity Advisory Committee Report
- Copies of the Resolutions/Statements of Non-Discrimination of each UCA Governing Body as discussed and passed by their respective bodies.

## **Agenda Items:**

### I. Introductions:

All committee members were asked to introduce themselves by indicating their name, position they hold, department/college, etc.

### II. Committee Purpose & Functions:

Mr. Williams began the discussion by bringing everyone's attention to Board Policy 525. He asked that everyone become familiar with it if they had not already done so. He commented that the committee purpose is very broad and work will be ongoing. He also stated that there are a lot of moving parts. Victor Green will serve on the committee as the Board of Trustees member. Mr. Williams plans to get the language of the last paragraph of the Board Policy amended to read "The chair of the committee shall be the University's chief diversity officer or designee." Kaye McKinzie brought up a discussion regarding the selection of faculty member's terms by the drawing of lots, as indicated in the Board Policy page 2, third paragraph from the bottom of the page. Mr. Williams indicated that since the faculty members were chosen by the faculty, he would prefer that the Faculty Senate handle this matter. Nancy Gallavan motioned that the discussion be tabled until further clarification on the matter was gathered. Aaron Knight

seconded the motion. There was no discussion. One opposed. The motion carried. Mr. Williams indicated that he would follow up with the Faculty Senate regarding the matter.

## III. Extension of Benefits Issue (Agenda Add-on):

Kaye McKinzie proposed that this item be added onto the agenda so that the committee is aware of issues going on in the university community. Background: The Employee Benefit Advisory Committee (EBAC) recently addressed an issue of extension of benefits to (1) children and (2) partners (legally married in other states or not) of same sex partners and (3) to common law spouses. Graham Gillis spoke on the issue. The EBAC has asked for an AR Attorney General's opinion. He stated that it is a strong issue at other campuses and it has been turned over to administration. The issue will be revisited at the next committee meeting pending receipt of further information from EBAC.

IV. Statement of Non-Discrimination- Recommendations from the Three Governing Bodies: Memos were sent to each governing body. Each constituency was asked to consider two options (1) expand the current statement to include gender identity and sexual orientation or (2) remove all verbiage that pertains to individuals or groups. Mr. Williams stated that he would like the committee to also take a position and provide it to President Courtway. A member from each governing body discussed the option that was chosen and the reasoning behind it. Discussion continued and it was determined that an ad-hoc sub-committee would be formed to write the committee's recommendation. The sub-committee will consist of Letha Mosley (chair), Nancy Gallavan, Corey Parks, and Sandra Luckett. The sub-committee will be responsible for reviewing the recommendations that were submitted, clarifying terms, and making further

recommendations as needed.

# V. Sub-Committees:

Mr. Williams introduced the idea of other sub-committees. There were no objections. The sub-committees are as follows:

- *Non-Discrimination Statement (one-time committee):* Letha Mosley (chair), Nancy Gallavan, Corey Parks, and Sandra Luckett
- Retention & Recruitment: Angela Webster-Smith (chair), Bi-Ling Chen, Tiffany Johnson
- *Data Assessment:* Darshon Anderson (chair), Kaye McKinzie, Juan Mayen, Katie Bruich (non-voting)
- Strategic Plan: John Fincher, Wendy Lucas
- Funding for Diversity Initiatives (Intentional Fund that would support Faculty Recruitment/Speaker Series): Ronnie Williams, Aaron Knight, Greg Hunt, Graham Gillis

## VI. Requests:

- Kaye McKinzie would like to get the Diversity Plans for each college if they are available. Mr. Williams stated that Wendy Lucas should have access to those and he would get those from her to share with the committee.
- Kaye McKinzie requested that the colleges that each faculty member is representing be noted on the contact sheet so that everyone is aware of the representation. Note taker Denicha Kemp indicated that she would make this change.

# VII. Calendar: Next Meeting:

The next meeting will be centered on Strategic Planning. The meeting will take place on February 4, 2014; 1:40 p.m.

Adjournment: Meeting was adjourned by the chair at 2:42 p.m.