Constitution Day

Welcome to the UCA Department of Political Science webpage commemorating “Constitution Day” on September 17th!

On September 17, 1787, the Constitution of the United States was adopted by delegates to the Constitutional Convention meeting at Independence Hall in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.  After  being ratified by nine of the original thirteen states, the U.S. Constitution replaced the first “constitution” of the U.S. – the Articles of Confederation – on June 21, 1788.  The U.S. Constitution provides the basic framework for our national government, including the basic principles of federalism, checks and balances, and separation of powers.  Articles 1 through 3 of the U.S. Constitution establish the three branches of the U.S. federal government (legislative, executive, and judicial).  The “Bill of Rights”, which includes freedom of speech and other essential civil liberties enjoyed by all American citizens, is the first 10 amendments to the U.S. Constitution.

For more information regarding the U.S. Constitution, Constitution Day, and other related topics, please see the links below.


Dr. Clay Arnold, Chair of the Department of Political Science


Internet Links:

National Archives – U.S. Constitution

National Archives – Bill of Rights

National Archives – Declaration of Independence

National Endowment for the Humanities – Constitution Day

Findlaw.Com – Amendments to the U.S. Constitution

Library of Congress – Federalist Papers

U.S. House of Representative

U.S. Senate

U.S. Supreme Court

White House