The following links (see bottom of the page) are partial lists of political science, public administration, and international studies graduates from the Department of Political Science at the University of Central Arkansas.  For some forty years, graduates from the UCA Department of Political Science have pursued successful and rewarding careers in the fields of education, business, government & public administration, law & law enforcement, military service, and politics.  Since 2014, the UCA Department of Political Science has recognized its alumni with the Distinguished Alumni Award.  The list of award winners is also linked below.

The alumni of the Department of Political Science include J.D. Gingerich, Director of the Administrative Office of the Courts in the state of Arkansas; Dr. Steven Sanderson, President and CEO of the Wildlife Conservation Society in Bronx, New York; Dr. Aimee Shouse, Chair and Professor, Department of Women’s Studies, Western Illinois University, Macomb, Illinois; Tyrone Scott, Chief Historian for Headquarters Fifth Air Force, Yokota Air Base, Tokyo, Japan; Bishop Woosley, Director, Arkansas Lottery Commission, Little Rock, Arkansas; Harry S. Hurst, Jr., Partner, Parker Hurst & Burnett, PLC, Jonesboro, Arkansas; Hadrian Hatfield, Attorney, Shulman, Rogers, Gandal, Pordy, & Ecker, P.A., Potomac, Maryland; Judge David L. Reynolds, Arkansas Circuit Court (20th Judicial District, Division One), Conway, Arkansas; Dr. Mark Ellickson, Professor of Political Science, Missouri State University, Springfield, Missouri.; Dr. Shannon Davis, Assistant Dean for Research, Office of the Dean, College of Engineering, University of Arkansas-Fayetteville, Fayetteville, Arkansas; Preston Scroggin, Judge, Faulkner County, Conway, Arkansas; Dr. Steve Smith, Associate Professor of Geography and International Studies, Missouri Southern State University, Joplin, Missouri; Randy Thurman, Executive Director, Arkansas Environmental Federation (AEF), Little Rock, AR; Tab Townsell, Mayor of the city of Conway, Arkansas; Judge Brian Miller, U.S. District Court-Eastern Arkansas, Little Rock, Arkansas; Dr. Heather Denton Mbaye, Associate Professor of Political Science, University of West Georgia, Carrollton, Georgia; Jason Rapert, Member, Arkansas State Senate; Paul Suskie, General Counsel and Senior Vice President of Policy for Southwest Power Pool, Little Rock, Arkansas; Gail Ponder Gaines, Attorney, Barber Law Firm, Little Rock, Arkansas; Noah Davis, Managing Partner, IN PACTA, PLLC, Seattle, Washington; Dexter Pearson, Acting Director of the Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization-OSDBU, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Washington DC; Nealon DeVore, Senior Program Manager, ONE International – Africa, Johannesburg, South Africa; Gerard Matthews, Communications Director, Arkansas Advocates for Children & Families, Little Rock, Arkansas; Hristijan Gjorgievski, Program Manager, National Democratic Institute for International Affairs (NDI), Washington DC; Allison Curran Albritton, Staff Attorney, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Little Rock, Arkansas; Cody W. Stafford, Associate, Dobrowski, LLP, Houston, Texas; Jose Guzzardi, Institutional Relations Manager, Wal-Mart Brazil, Sao Paola, Brazil; William E. Foster, Associate Professor of Law, Washburn School of Law, Topeka, Kansas; John Zimmerebner, Director of Advance, Office of Former President William J. Clinton, New York, NY; and Ben Kaminar, Assistant District Attorney, Fannin County, Texas.


If you are a political science, public administration, or international studies graduate from UCA, we would like to hear from you!  Please let us know what you have done since graduating, what you are currently doing and where, and when you graduated (if we don’t already have that information) by contacting Dr. Mark Mullenbach at Also, please let us know if there are any corrections or revisions to your information.  Thank you!


Alumni (1970-1979)

Alumni (1980-1989)

Alumni (1990-1999)

Alumni (2000-2009)

Alumni (2010-2019)

Distinguished Alumni Award recipients (2014-present)