UCA students participate in 13th Arkansas Collegiate Model United Nations (ACMUN) conference at ASU

Nineteen UCA students representing the UCA Model United Nations (MUN) student organization participated in the 13th Arkansas Collegiate Model United Nations (ACMUN) Conference at Arkansas State University-Jonesboro on Friday, November 3, 2023.  The group, which included Julien Mrad, Jaycie Sturdivant, Dice Ferguson, Makenna Goss, Gabriel Mince, Ryan Webb, Laura Carrillo Rodriguez, Cooper Horton, Emily Temple, Lauren Clark, Abby Bunch, Mitchell Davis, Jaylan Harris, Aissata Diare, Lillie Webb, Allison Hellard, Jenna Taylor, Aminatou Adeniji, and Kyle Urban, represented the countries of Albania, Algeria, Brazil, Costa Rica, Czechia, Egypt, Morocco, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and Kazakhstan.  The conference included simulations of the UN Economic & Social Council (ECOSOC), UN Human Rights Council (HRC), UN Security Council, and the Council of the Arab League.  Dr. Mark Elrod and Dr. Mark Mullenbach, faculty members in the Department of Government, Public Service, and International Studies, served as the faculty advisors for the UCA students.

The following UCA students were recognized for their performances at the 13th ACMUN Conference: Julien Mrad – Outstanding Delegate (Security Council, Albania); Dice Ferguson – Honorable Mention (Arab League, Algeria); Makenna Goss – Outstanding Delegate (ECOSOC, Brazil); Gabriel Mince – Honorable Mention (Security Council, Brazil); Emily Temple – Honorable Mention (ECOSOC, Czechia); Lauren Clark & Abby Bunch – Honorable Mention (Human Rights Council, Czechia); and Mitchell Davis – Outstanding Delegate (Arab League, Egypt).  In addition, the delegations of Brazil (Makenna Goss, Gabriel Mince, and Ryan Webb) and Czechia (Emily Temple, Lauren Clark, and Abby Bunch) were selected as Best Delegations-Honorable Mention.