Department hosted the 10th Arkansas Collegiate Model United Nations (ACMUN) conference

The Department of Political Science and the UCA Model United Nations (MUN) student organization hosted the 10th annual Arkansas College Model United Nations (ACMUN) Conference on Friday, November 6, 2020.  Delegates from seven colleges and universities in Arkansas, as well as Oklahoma State University and Universidad de La Salle in Bogotá, Colombia, participated in the first virtual Model United Nations conference hosted by UCA. The delegates represented 40 countries in simulations of four committees, including the Economic & Social Council, Human Rights Council, Council of the Arab League, and Security Council. Twenty-seven of the participating delegates received Outstanding Delegation and Outstanding Delegation-Honorable Mention awardsAbby Mattingly, a senior majoring in International Studies and French, served as the President of the UCA Model UN student organization in 2020-2021.  Dr. Mark Elrod and Dr. Mark Mullenbach serve as faculty advisors for the UCA MUN student organization.