Department announces Outstanding Students for 2018-2019

The College of Liberal Arts (CLA) Academic Honors Convocation was held in McCastlain Hall on Sunday, April 28, 2019. Dr. Tom Williams, Dean of the CLA, welcomed faculty, students, and family members attending the convocation.  During the convocation, Dr. Williams congratulated all of the students chosen for the awards presented by the departments of English; History; Languages, Linguistics, Literatures, & Cultures; Philosophy & Religion; Political Science; and Sociology, Criminology, & Anthropology.  He also announced that Carolyn Casey, a senior majoring in International Studies, was named the CLA Student-of-the-Year for 2018-2019.

Dr. Clay Arnold, Chair of the Department of Political Science, announced the winners of the department’s annual awards:

Outstanding Student in Political Science:  Cagney Kilgroe

Outstanding Student in Public Administration:  Matilda Benson

Outstanding Students in International Studies:  Carolyn Casey and Itzel Velazquez