53rd Arkansas Model United Nations (AMUN) conference held at UCA

The UCA Department of Political Science hosted the 53rd Arkansas Model United Nations (AMUN) conference at the University of Central Arkansas on November 16-17, 2018.  Some 560 delegates from 30 high schools in Arkansas, Tennessee, and Texas participated in the conference.  Spencer Burton served as Secretary-General, and Willis Arnold served as Deputy Secretary-General of the conference.  Dr. Mark Elrod, Lecturer in the Department of Political Science, served as AMUN Conference Coordinator.  Dr. Mark Mullenbach, Associate Professor of Political Science, served as AMUN Faculty Advisor Liaison.

During the opening session held in Ida Waldran Auditorium in Main Hall on Friday, November 16th, Dr. Tom Williams, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts, gave the welcoming address to the assembled delegates.  In addition, four students spoke to the assembled delegates, including Drew Janes (United Kingdom) of Pope John Paul II High School, Landon Perdue (Equatorial Guinea) of Brookland High School, Genrietta Churbanova (Russian Federation) of Pulaski Academy, Seylor Cluck (France) of Haas Hall Academy-Fayetteville, and Madi Bagsby (Morocco) of Pope John Paul II High School.  The delegation representing France (Haas Hall Academy-Fayetteville)  was presented the Outstanding Delegation award during the closing session on Saturday, November 17th.  The delegations representing the Russian Federation (Pulaski Academy) and the United Kingdom (Pope John Paul II High School) were presented the Outstanding Delegation Runner-Up awards during the closing session.