NOVEL CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19) UPDATES

Masks are required as the campus is at red status.

University Safety Committee

Charge

  1. To recommend to the vice president for finance and administration policies that ensure an environment free from unreasonable risk, thereby reducing the number and severity of occupational illnesses and injuries.
  2. To serve as a resource for the various administrative units on campus, assisting them in the identification and correction of unsafe conditions or practices in their areas.
  3. To serve as the coordinating body in monitoring compliance with safety regulations.
  4. To recommend to the vice president for finance and administration expenditures necessary to achieve the university’s safety goals.

Membership

The occupational safety and health program director, director of student health services, director of public safety, associate vice president for human resources and risk management, the university’s general counsel, one faculty member appointed by the Faculty Senate, two staff members appointed by the Staff Senate, one student member appointed by the Student Government Association.

Faculty members will serve four-year terms, staff members will serve two-year terms and student members will serve one-year terms. The chair is appointed by the vice president for finance and administration and the secretary is elected by the committee.

Members

V.P. of Finance and Administration
Diane Newton
dnewton@uca.edu

Director of Physical Plant
Larry Lawrence
larryl@uca.edu

Environmental Health and Safety
Nelson Landers
nlanders@uca.edu

General Counsel
Warren Readnour
wreadnour@uca.edu

Compliance Officer
Adam Rose
amro2002@uca.edu

Associate Director of Housing
Joe Hooker
jhooker@uca.edu

Student Health Services
Randy Pastor
rpastor@uca.edu

Police Chief
John Merguie
jmerguie@uca.edu

Captain Police Dept.
Chris Bentley
chrisb@uca.edu

V.P. Human Resources
Britni Elder
belder@uca.edu

Director of Housing
Stephanie McBrayer
smcbrayer@uca.edu

Insurance
Kim Hutchcraft
kimh@uca.edu

Faculty Senate
Sherry Skaggs
sskaggs@uca.edu

Staff Senate
Jason Davis
jasondavis@uca.edu

Staff Senate
Shad Foley
sfoley3@uca.edu

Paul Dielman
pdielmann@uca.edu

Student Government
Chenel Dale

UCA Police Dept.
Carol Walton
cwalton2@uca.edu

Chemical Hygiene – Chemistry Dept.
Jamie Freeman
jfreeman5@uca.edu

Meetings

at least once per semester as needed

Reports to

Vice President for Finance and Administration

Meeting Minutes

November 3, 2011
April 4, 2011
March 10, 2011
February 3, 2011

Safety Concerns

UCA students, faculty and staff are encouraged to email any safety concerns to the University Safety Committee at mysafety@uca.edu.

Page last updated: Aug. 25, 2021