Arkansas Model United Nations (AMUN) Conference - 2012

The 47th Annual Arkansas Model United Nations (AMUN) Conference was held on the campus of UCA on November 16-17, 2012.  More than 400 delegates from 27 high schools in Arkansas, Tennessee, Mississippi, Oklahoma, and Florida participated in the conference.  Jake Logan, International Studies major in the UCA Department of Political Science, served as AMUN Secretary-General and Dr. Mark Mullenbach,  Associate Professor of Political Science, served as Coordinator of the AMUN Conference.

UCA President Tom Courtway gave the welcoming address to the delegates during the Opening Session in Ida Waldran Auditorium.  Mr. Hristijan Gjorgievski gave the keynote address during the Opening Session.  Hristijan Gjorgievski, previously served as AMUN Secretary-General in 2005 and graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Political Science and French from UCA in 2006.  He graduated with a Master’s degree in International Relations from the School of Advanced International Studies at Johns Hopkins University in 2009. Since 2009, Hristijan Gjorgievski has served as Program Manager in his native country of Macedonia for the Washington DC-based National Democratic Institute. As program manager, Hristijan develops and manages democratization projects.

Committee chairs included Logan Spurlock (Special Political Committee), Willis Arnold (Social & Humanitarian Committee), Tyler Bittle (Economic & Finance Committee), Jeffery Montgomery (Legal Committee), Stephanie Gray (Security Council), Juan Mayen (Economic & Social Council), and Kate Loyd (Human Rights Council).  During the Closing Session, the "Outstanding Delegation" award was presented to the Iranian delegation (Pope John Paul II High School, Hendersonville, TN), and the "Outstanding Delegation Runner-Up" award was presented to the Belgian delegation (DeSoto Central High School, Southaven, MS).


2012 AMUN Secretary-General Jake Logan

Keynote Speaker (and 2005 AMUN Secretary-General) Hristijan Gjorgievski (left)
and 2012 AMUN Secretary-General Jake Logan (right)

Left to Right: Dr. Mark Mullenbach, Jake Logan,
Hristijan Gjorgievski, and President Tom Courtway