University Safety Committee


  1. To recommend to the Vice President for finance and administration services policies that ensure an environment free from unreasonable risk, thereby reducing the number and severity of occupational illnesses and injuries.
  2. To serve as a resource for the various administrative units on campus, assisting them in the identification and correction of unsafe conditions or practices in their areas.
  3. To serve as the coordinating body in monitoring compliance with safety regulations.
  4. To recommend to the Vice President for finance and administration services expenditures necessary to achieve the university's safety goals.


  1. The Vice President for Finance and Administration, Medical Director of Student Health Services, Chief of Police, Associate Vice President/Admin. Services/Human Resources, Associate General Counsel, Director of Physical Plant, Director of Environmental Health and Safety, Director of Housing and Residence Life and the committee secretary will serve as permanent members.
  2. One faculty member appointed by the Faculty Senate. Faculty members will serve four-year terms.
  3. Two staff members appointed by the Staff Senate.  Staff members will serve two-year terms.
  4. One student member appointed by the Student Government Association will serve.  Student members will serve one-year terms.
  5. The Director of Organizational and Community Services, Research Compliance Coordinator, hazardous chemical expert from the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, Insurance Manager, and Associate Director of Media Relations will serve in an ex-officio capacity.

The chair is appointed by the president and the secretary is elected by the committee.


Member Term Title
Diane Newton Permanent Vice President, Finance and Administration
Randy Pastor Permanent Medical Director, Student Health Services
Larry James Permanent Chief of Police
Graham Gillis Permanent Associate Vice President, Human Resources
Warren Readnour Permanent General Counsel
Larry Lawrence Permanent Director, Physical Plant
Tim Decker Permanent Chair; Environmental Health and Safety Manager
Stephanie McBrayer Permanent Director of Housing and Residence Life
Kim Hutchcraft Permanent Secretary, Insurance Manager
Meredith Kemper 2016 Faculty Senate Appointment
Mary Jackson 2016 Staff Senate Appointment
Denicha Kemp 2015 Staff Senate Appointment
 Ben Askew 2016 SGA Appointment
Arch Jones, Jr. Ex-officio; Organizational and Community Services
Steve Beal Ex-officio; Research Compliance Coordinator
 Rick Tarkka Ex-officio; Hazardous Chemical Expert
Kim Hutchcraft Ex-officio; Insurance Manager
Fredricka Sharkey Ex-officio; Director, Media Relations



on call

Reports to


Send minutes to: Chair of Committee on Committees

Page last updated:   September 30, 2015