Athletic Committee

Charge: The committee serves as a liaison among the athletic department, the academic faculty, and the administration and concerns itself with policies governing the athletic program and ensuring a desirable balance between the athletic program and the academic programs of the university. The committee will review aspects of the athletic program such as schedules, budget allocations, Title IX compliance, and academic progress of athletes. The committee recommends policies concerning the university athletic program as well as those of the conference.

Annual Report and Presentation: The Faculty Senate requests that this committee provide a written report to the Faculty Senate by February 1 of each year. This report should summarize the body´s activities during the prior year, provide appropriate statistics and data, and outline long-range planning for the following year. This report should be approved by the membership of the committee. The chair of this committee shall contact the President of the Faculty Senate to schedule a presentation to the full Senate by this same date.

Membership: The faculty representative to the NCAA-Division 1-A, the Vice President for Financial Services, the Athletic Director, the Coordinator of Women's Athletics, and eight members of the faculty appointed by the Faculty Senate for four-year rotating terms. The Registrar is an ex officio member. Three student members shall include one male athlete, one female athlete, and one student chosen by the Student Government Association. The chair and the secretary are elected by the committee.


Bill Bandy, Chair   NCAA-Division 1-A Faculty Rep                   Permanent

Diane Newton       Vice President for Financial Services           Permanent

Brad Teague         Athletic Director                                            Permanent

Natalie Shock        Senior Women's Administrator                     Permanent

Beth Durff              Registrar    (ex-officio)                                  Permanent

Don Bradley (BUS)                                                                        2017

Elisabeth DiPrince (LIB)                                                              2017

Kim Eskola (HBS)                                                                        2017

Doug Isanhart (BUS)                                                                   2017



George Bratton (NSM)                                                                2015

Carrie Dyer (FAC)                                                                         2015

Susan Burks (LIB)                                                                       2016

Student,-Female Athlete

Student-Male Athlete

Steven Shook  Student-Non Athlete

Meetings: on call

Reports to: President

Send minutes to: Chair of the Committee on Committees

Page Last Updated:  7/10/2014