UCA Core Council


  1. To review the current UCA Core program and make appropriate recommendations to the Council of Deans.
  2. To review and recommend to the Council of Deans new and revised UCA Core curricula proposed by the various departments and colleges.
  3. To initiate and recommend policies and procedures relevant to UCA Core requirements.


  1. One department chair is elected from each of the academic colleges.
  2. Two faculty members elected from each academic college with at least one holding the rank of assistant professor or above;
  3. One faculty member elected by the Department of Student Transition faculty.
  4. One faculty member elected by the Schedler Honors College faculty.
  5. Two students are invited to serve as members of the council, one representing the Student Government Association and one representing Alpha Chi.
  6. The Director of UCA Core serves as chair of the Council.
  7. The associate provost as designated by the provost, university director of assessment, director of the library and the registrar are ex-officio, non-voting members.

Each council member serves three years on a rotating basis. Students serve one-year terms. The council elects its secretary each academic year.


Term Position
Jacob Held Permanent Chair, Director of UCA Core
Kurt Boniecki Ex-officio Associate Provost
 Jonathan Glenn (Interim) Ex-officio Director of Assessment
Dean Covington/Renee Lebeau-Ford Ex-officio Director of the Library/Proxy
Vicky Summers Ex-officio Registrar
Stephanie Watson 2025 Chair, COB
Steve O’Connell 2024 Chair, CNSM
Wendy Lucas 2026 Chair, CAHSS
Kim Eskola 2026 Chair, CHBS
Debbie Dailey 2024 Chair, COE
Steve Nelson 2024  COB
Jacob Bundrick 2026 COB
Stephanie Watson 2025 CHBS
Kathryn Carroll 2024 CHBS
Jen Talbot 2024 CAHSS
Sharon Mason 2025 CAHSS
Ron Novy  2025 COE
Brandy Walthall 2026 COE
Yaqian He 2025  CNSM
Marsha Massey 2026  CNSM
Amanda Wiley-Martin 2022 Student Transitions
Patricia Smith 2026 Honors College
Abby Benham 2022 Alpha Chi


X-period the first Tuesday of each month. On all other times as needed.

Reports to


Agendas and Minutes

See https://uca.edu/core/minutes/.

Page last updated: January 20, 2022