Library Committee


Faculty members of the library committee advise the director of the library on matters of general library policy. Student members advise the committee on any library matters that are of particular concern to the student body. Members’ reports to colleagues in the respective colleges serve to maintain a flow of ideas and opinions between the faculty and the library staff. They advise on the allocation of funds to alleviate deficiencies in the specific subject areas. The tenured members of the Library Committee serve as the college tenure and promotion committee for library faculty.


The committee consists of the director of the library, who will serve as chair, one undergraduate student appointed by the Student Government Association, one graduate student appointed by the dean of the graduate school, and one tenured faculty member from each academic college and one tenured faculty member who is not affiliated with any of the academic colleges appointed by the Faculty Senate to serve rotating three-year terms. The Library Committee will select one of its members to serve as secretary.


Member Term Title
 Dean Covington Permanent Director of the Library, Chair
Gizachew Tiruneh (CLA) 2019 Faculty Senate
Raymond Ogar  (CFAC) 2018 Faculty Senate
Jeff Whittingham (COE) 2019 Faculty Senate
Alex Chen (COB) 2020 Faculty Senate
Brook Pearson (CNSM) 2020 Faculty Senate
Michael Gallagher (CHBS) 2018 Faculty Senate
Donna Bowman (Unaffiliated) 2019 Faculty Senate
 Emma Tarkka 2018 Undergraduate Student, SGA
Reginald Hawkins  2018 Student, Graduate Dean Appointment


on call

Reports to


Page last updated:  May 6, 2016