Honors Council


The council formulates and recommends policies and programs to the Council of Deans relating to honors and awards. The Director of Exemplary Studies and the Director of the Honors College work closely with the council in securing consultation and approval in developing programs and in instituting changes within the campus-wide Honors Program.


  1. The Honors Council is composed of one faculty member from each college serving three-year rotating terms with the membership of the council selected by the Faculty Senate.
  2. Director of the honors college and the director of Exemplary Studies serve as ex officio members. The director of Exemplary Studies is the permanent chair of this committee.  The director of exemplary studies and the director of the honors college function under the immediate supervision of the provost.


Member Term Title
Rick Scott Permanent Director of Honors Program
Laura Bowles 2016 Faculty Senate Appointments - FAC
Laci Lyons 2016 Faculty Senate Appointments - BUS
Leah Horton 2017 Faculty Senate Appointments - NSM
Shoudong Feng 2017 Faculty Senate Appointments - ED
Elson Bihm 2018 Faculty Senate Appointments - HBS
Nick Brasovan 2018 Faculty Senate Appointments - LA


on call

Reports to


Send minutes to: Chair of the Committee on Committees              �

Page last updated:  August 27, 2015