Graduate Council


  1. To review and recommend to the Council of Deans new graduate curricula and programs proposed by the various departments and colleges
  2. To review existing graduate offerings and make appropriate recommendations to the Council of Deans
  3. To initiate and recommend policies relevant to graduate degree requirements, grading and credit policies, academic standards, and related matters
  4. To review and recommend faculty for graduate status
  5. To act as an academic appeal body for graduate students

Annual Report: The Faculty Senate requests that this council provide a written report to the Faculty Senate by October 1 of each year.


  1. Department chairs are appointed by the Faculty Senate, one from each of the academic colleges. No other department chair may serve on the council.
  2. Graduate faculty members with the rank of assistant professor or above are appointed by the Faculty Senate, one from each academic college.
  3. Each academic college, according to the procedure for appointing college committees, appoints one faculty member.
  4. One graduate student is appointed by the Faculty Senate, one graduate student is appointed by the Graduate Council, and one graduate student is elected by the Student Government Association.

The associate provost and dean of the graduate school serves as chair of the Graduate Council. The council elects its secretary. The provost and the registrar serve as ex officio, non-voting members. Members serve four-year terms on a rotating basis for each of the first three categories. Students serve one-year terms.


Member Term Title
Angela Barlow Permanent  Dean of the Graduate School, Chair
Brent Hill 2021 Faculty Senate Appointment, Chair, CNSM
Michael Rubach 2021 Faculty Senate Appointment, Chair, COB
Art Gillaspy 2018 Faculty Senate Appointment, Chair, CHBS
Wendy Lucas 2019 Faculty Senate Appointment, Chair, CLA
Terry James 2020 Faculty Senate Appointment, Chair, COE
Mike Gunter 2020 Faculty Senate Appointment, Chair, CFAC
Arijit Mukherjee 2018 Faculty Senate Appointment, Graduate Faculty, CNSM
Alex Chen 2019 Faculty Senate Appointment, Graduate Faculty, COB
Darshon Anderson 2020 Faculty Senate Appointment, Graduate Faculty, CHBS
Travis Sorenson for Michael Rosenow (on-sabbatical ) 2018 Faculty Senate Appointment, Graduate Faculty, CLA
Janet Filer 2021 Faculty Senate Appointment, Graduate Faculty, COE
Jennie Case for John Vanderslice (on-sabbatical) 2020 Faculty Senate Appointment, Graduate Faculty, CFAC
Jason Martin 2020 College Appointment, CNSM
Mark McMurtrey 2018 College Appointment, COB
Joan Simon 2018 College Appointment, CHBS
Ramon Escamilla 2020 College Appointment, CLA
Rhonda McClellan 2019 College Appointment, COE
Stephanie Vanderslice 2019 College Appointment, CFAC
Michael Blanchett  2018 Faculty Senate, Graduate Student Appt.
Wes Martschling  2018 Graduate Council, Graduate Student Appt.
Christian Robinson  2018 SGA, Graduate Student Appt.
Michael Hargis Permanent Interim Provost, ex-officio and non-voting
Becky Rasnick  Permanent Registrar, ex-officio and non-voting



X-period the third Thursday, each month. On call other times as needed.

Reports to

Provost        �

Page last updated:  May 6, 2016