Faculty Development Committee


To foster curricular and course improvement and assist faculty in improving teaching. The committee reviews applications from faculty members to support, fully or in part, activities related to the development of curriculum and faculty instruction.


The director for the center for teaching excellence serves as permanent chair; one faculty member from each college chosen by the provost from a list of at least three nominees from each college provided by the Faculty Senate; one faculty member unaffiliated with the academic colleges, chosen by the provost from a list of three nominees provided by the Faculty Senate; and two at-large members chosen by the Faculty Senate. All members except the chair serve rotating three-year terms.


Member College Term Title
Amy Hawkins Permanent Director, Center for Teaching Excellence, Chair
Susan Myers COB 2018 Provost/Faculty Senate Appointee
Karen Steelman CNSM 2018 Provost/Faculty Senate Appointee
Jennifer Moore CHBS 2018 Provost/Faculty Senate Appointee
Jesse Butler CLA 2017 Provost/Faculty Senate Appointee
Riva Brown CFAC 2017 Provost/Faculty Senate Appointee
Haihong Hu COE 2018 Provost/Faculty Senate Appointee
Kari Naylor at-large 2017 Faculty Senate Appointee
Carl Olds at-large 2017 Faculty Senate Appointee



on call

Reports to


Send Minutes to: Chair of the Committee on Committees

Minutes October 6, 2015

Minutes November 2015

Minutes January 2016

Minutes March 2016

Page last updated:  May 6, 2016