Employee Benefits Advisory Committee


  1. To recommend benefits provided to UCA employees and to assess employee needs.
  2. To recommend to the budget advisory committee by priority the fringe benefits to include in the next year’s budget.
  3. To encourage educational and informational programs designed to promote the best use of fringe benefits by UCA employees.


Annual Report and Presentation:

The Faculty Senate requests that this committee provide a written report to the Faculty Senate by November 1 of each year. This report should summarize the body´s activities during the prior year, provide appropriate statistics and data, and outline long-range planning for the following year. This report should be approved by the membership of the committee. The chair of this committee shall contact the President of the Faculty Senate to schedule a presentation to the full Senate by this same date.


Consists of four full-time continuing faculty members and four staff members serving rotating four-year terms and a chair appointed by the president. The associate vice president for human resources and risk management serves as an ex officio member. Faculty members are appointed by the Faculty Senate. Staff members are appointed by the Staff senate.

Also consists of one part-time faculty serving a one-year term.  The part-time faculty position shall be a non-voting member except on issues that directly affect the part-time faculty of the university as determined by the chair of the committee.


Member College Term Title
Ed Powers, Chair CLA Permanent UCA Presidential Appointment
Lee Sanders  COB 2020 Faculty Senate Part-Time
Jessie Hornbrook CFAC 2021 Faculty Senate Full-Time
_________ 2020 Faculty Senate Full-Time
Lisa Christman UC 2018  Faculty Senate Full-Time
Mark McMurtrey COB 2019  Faculty Senate Full-Time
Lindsey Shurley 2018 Staff Senate Appointment
Lori Hudspeth 2019  Staff Senate Appointment
Jason Cole  2021   Staff Senate Appointment
Tyra Phillips 2020   Staff Senate Appointment
Graham Gillis Permanent Assoc. Vice President, Human Resources


on call

Reports to:



Send minutes to: Chair of the Committee on Committees

Page last updated:   April 14, 2016