Affirmative Action Advisory Committee

This committee has been suspended. The Diversity Advisory Committee and Title IX Deputy Coordinators have replaced this committee. See UCA Board Policies 525 and 511


Charge: To conduct a periodic review of EEO-6 employment records and other statistical data to monitor the university’s compliance with its affirmative action plan, policies, and programs and to monitor UCA’s compliance in meeting its affirmative action/equal opportunity goals. The University of Central Arkansas is an affirmative action/equal opportunity institution dedicated to attracting and supporting a diverse student, faculty and staff population through enhanced multicultural learning environments and opportunities.  In keeping with its non-discrimination policy in employment, admissions and other functions and programs, the University considers employees and students on the basis of individual merit and will not discriminate against a person on the basis of gender, race or color, ethnicity, religion, spiritual beliefs, national origin, age, familial status, socioeconomic background, sexual orientation, disability, political beliefs, intellectual perspective, genetic information, military status, or other factors irrelevant to participation in its programs.

Annual Report: The Faculty Senate requests that this committee provide a written report to the Faculty Senate by February 1 of each year. This report should summarize the body´s activities during the prior year, provide appropriate statistics and data, and outline long-range planning for the following year. This report should be approved by the membership of the committee.

Membership: The affirmative action officer serves as permanent chair; three students chosen annually by the SGA to represent minority students and AA/EEO concerns; three staff members chosen by the Staff Senate to staggered three-years terms to represent minority staff personnel and AA/EEO concerns; presidential appointment of one academic department chair to serve a three-year term; presidential appointment of one faculty member from the retention committee to serve a three-year term; one admissions officer appointed by the president; four faculty selected by the Faculty Senate to represent minority faculty and AA/EEO concerns serving staggered four-year terms. The director of institutional research, general counsel, and associate vice president for human resources serve as ex officio, non-voting members.


Member College Term Title
Kandi Hughes, Chair Permanent Director of Affirmative Action
Mackenzie Turner SGA Representative
Ayla Fedor SGA Representative
Garrett McKamie SGA Representative
Aniayah Henderson 2017 Staff Senate Appointment
Lula Tyus 2015 Staff Senate Appointment
Tiffany Johnson 2016 Staff Senate Appointment
VACANT Academic Department Chair
VACANT Faculty Member from Retention Committee
Chris Riggins Admissions Office Permanent Graduate Student, Dean of Grad. School appointment
Adriian Gardner FAC 2015 Faculty Senate Appointment
Doug George LA 2016 Faculty Senate Appointment
Ron Novy UC 2017 Faculty Senate Appointment
Riva Brown FAC 2018 Faculty Senate Appointment
Amber Hall Permanent Director, Institutional Research
Warren Readnour Permanent General Counsel
Graham Gillis Permanent Assoc. Vice President, Human Resources

Meetings: on call

Reports to: President

Send minutes to: Chair of the Committee on Committees

Page Last Updated: 04/14/16