Student Success & Retention Council January 17, 2019

The Student Success and Retention Council (SSRC) met in regular session at 3:00 p.m. on Thursday, January 17, 2019. Provost Patricia Poulter and Associate Provost Kurt Boniecki presided, and the following individuals were present: Leigh Ann DenHartog, Susan Sobel, Tami Phillips, Lindsey Shurley, Rahul Mehta, Dean Covington, Stephanie McBrayer, Julia Winden Fey, Amber Hall, Chad Hearne, Patricia Smith, John Fincher, Jacob Held, Lesley Graybeal, Joshua Eddinger-Lucero, and Amy Baldwin.

- 1. The minutes from the October 18, 2018 meeting were considered and approved.
- 2. P. Poulter discussed that, as the Student Success and Retention Council is evolving, the name should evolve, as well. The group discussed possible names and voted unanimously to approve a name change to Council on Student Success (CSS). P. Poulter will take the name change to the chair of the University Committee on Committees.
- 3. P. Poulter stated that the Associate Provost for Academic Success, Kurt Boniecki, and the Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management will co-lead the core CSS.

The Council discussed and listed the working groups and who should be involved in each. The proposed working groups were: Health & Well-Being; Faculty Support; Innovative Research (focusing on best practice and literary review); Research/Data Reporting; Frontline; and High-Impact Practices. The group also discussed who should be a member of the core CSS group.

Alicia Crow will create a Google Doc listing all proposed groups, who should participate, and what areas those groups should focus on. The document will be shared with the Council.

4. For next month's meeting, Chad Hearne will provide an update on the Frontline Working Group, Julia Winden Fey will report on interventions, and Susan Sobel will report on the work going on in the Counseling Center.

The meeting adjourned at 4:10 p.m.