Storing and backing up your files

You should store and regularly back up your UCA files on either your university-provided Google Drive or your network drive (faculty/staff only). This is the easiest and fastest way to ensure all your files are saved securely.

As the expert on your data, you should classify your data into two categories: sensitive data and general use data:

  • Sensitive data – these are any files that contain FERPA, ACH, PCI, PII, or other classification of protected data. Sensitive data should be stored on your UCA-provided network drive. Please note that any employee who has a need to store and/or view HIPAA or PHI data should contact IT for a consultation on how to best store and maintain that data.
  • General use data – these files can be stored either on your UCA-provided network drive OR your UCA-provided Google Drive.

Follow these steps for either Google Drive or your network drive to complete this back-up process.

NOTE: Computers provided to you at UCA are university property. According to UCA Board Policy 412, IT “is not responsible for the storage, backup, and/or recovery of any personal data (including but not limited to photos, music, movies, and personal files) stored on university-owned computers and electronic devices.” This also includes all Word documents, Excel spreadsheets, PowerPoint presentations, etc. Please consider this policy if you store any data on a university-owned computer, either on the C: drive, desktop, or anywhere else on the computer.

Network drive (faculty/staff only)

The preferred method for storing sensitive data is the network drive, also known as the O: drive. This is your personal network storage drive. However, storage space on the O: drive is limited to only 10 GB per user so you should ensure that you’re primarily keeping sensitive data there before considering using it for anything else.

  1. Click on the File Explorer icon on the taskbar.

    In the left part of the window is a list of locations. Scroll down and click on the arrow beside “This PC” to expand the list. Look for a location with your username. If you expand the window you will see it ends with “(O:)”

  1. You can click and drag files and folders into this O: drive folder. You can also navigate to the files you want to back up, right click on them, click “Copy” from the drop-down menu, then navigate back to the O: drive folder view, right click anywhere inside the folder view and click “Paste” in the drop-down menu.

Google Drive

Google Drive is a cloud storage option that offers unlimited storage space, easy sharing of files, and the ability to access and edit your files from a web browser. IT encourages you to take advantage of these features and store your files on the personal Google Drive associated with your UCA Google account. For more information, refer to the Knowledgebase article Google Drive FAQ.

  1. Using the Google Chrome browser, go to myUCA and log in with your UCA username and password.
  2. In the Collections menu, click Google Apps.

  1. Once logged in, click the task Google Drive. Make sure to choose the Google Drive task relevant to your role at UCA (Faculty/Staff or Students). This will open Google Drive.

  1. Click the New button, then click Folder upload. Note that this option is only available when using Google Chrome; it will not appear in Internet Explorer or Firefox.

  1. Locate the folder from the list you wish to back up (e.g. My Documents, etc.), and then click OK.
  2. This will begin the upload process for that folder’s contents. Upload times will vary depending on the file size and bandwidth speed. When done, the message Upload complete will appear in the lower-right corner of the screen.
  3. Repeat steps 4-6 for each folder you wish to back up.

Other considerations

One type of data often forgotten about and left out of many users’ backup strategies is web browser bookmarks. If you have a lot of bookmarks and don’t ever think to back them up you may lose them in the event your system crashes or needs reimaging. Bookmarks can be backed up in one of two ways:

  • Exporting your bookmarks to a file and backing up that file along with the rest of your files.
  • Using a browser’s built-in syncing feature.

Most browsers such as Chrome and Firefox include a feature which allows you to sync your browser settings across multiple computers. This is very handy because as long as you are signed in to the sync feature, any new bookmarks that you add will automatically be saved in the cloud. If you then sign in to the same browser on another computer, all of your bookmarks will be downloaded to that computer. Various other types of data can also be synced such as browser extensions, history, themes, passwords, currently open tabs, etc. Refer to your browser’s documentation for instructions on enabling syncing. Note that you may get periodically signed out of sync and have to sign in again to keep it active, particularly if using Chrome with a UCA account. This is likely to occur especially after a password change. An icon in the top right corner of Chrome browser will tell you if you are signed in or if you need to do so again to keep syncing.

  • Was this helpful?
  • Yes   No