Council of Deans May 29, 2019

The Council of Deans met in regular session at 9:00 a.m. on Wednesday, May 29, 2019. Provost Patricia Poulter presided and the following members were present: Jonathan Glenn, Michael Rubach (in the absence of Michael Hargis), Jimmy Ishee, Victoria Groves-Scott, Patricia Smith, Kurt Boniecki, Angela Barlow, Thomas Williams, Terry Wright, and Stephen Addison. Graham Gillis and Bridget Fortenberry were present for item one.

1. Information Items:

a. Bridget Fortenberry discussed some of the current initiatives that the Human Resources (HR) department is currently undertaking. There are several processes that are being converted from paper to electronic.

For faculty members interested in participating in the deferred pay program, Banner requires a certain appointment date for those who are on 10-month or 11month appointments. Those who fall into this category will need to have their appointment date changed in order to enroll in the program. The forms needed to sign up for or cancel enrollment in the deferred pay program are due to HR by July 1. Visiting faculty members can also sign up for deferred pay, but they must have a full-year appointment. Those with a one-semester appointment are not eligible to defer their pay.

The campus will not receive paper salary letters this fall. Instead, HR will send a campus-wide email with instructions for finding this information in Self Service. A draft copy of the Full-time Faculty Sick Leave Program form was distributed to the Council. Several adjustments to the form were discussed. B. Fortenberry will make the suggested changes and provide the updated document to the Provost for review with the Council. After review and approval, the form will be placed on the HR website.

An online workflow process will begin soon for leave requests. Once this has been added, the campus will no longer use paper leave request forms.

HR will be working on updating the employee evaluation process next year. The Council was asked to provide their feedback on the current process to B. Fortenberry.

2. The minutes from the May 1, 2019 meeting were considered and approved.

3. Discussion Items:

- a. J. Glenn discussed upcoming changes to the ADHE and AHECB process for submitting documentation relating to program notifications and proposals. He provided a handout to the Council outlining the changes. Discussion followed.
- b. J. Glenn led a discussion about maximum student enrollment hours for summer terms. He will continue to work with IT on parts-of-term limits and look at best practices.
- c. P. Poulter discussed the flooding projections provided by the Corp of Engineers. A campus-wide email will go out today from Academic Affairs that will discuss the Summer I and 10-Week sessions as they relate to the flooding situation.
- d. We are very sorry to hear of the passing of Dr. Norb Schedler. A memorial service has been planned for Saturday, June 8.
- e. P. Poulter asked the Council to plan for an additional meeting to discuss Meta Majors. She will be sharing information about Meta Majors with the Academic Council at their retreat in late July.
- f. Dr. Elke Leeds, an external consultant for UCA Online, will be on campus next Monday and Tuesday, June 3 and 4.
- g. P. Poulter reminded the Council that she will be attending an off-campus conference June 12 through June 14.
- h. Old Main will soon be host to a History of Academic Affairs exhibit.
- i. K. Boniecki discussed a memo that was provided to the Council regarding a UCA Online course review process. The Council discussed the document and provided feedback on the process. An updated version of the document will be sent to the Council by the end of the week so that the information can be shared with department chairs and directors. The Council will discuss any feedback received at the June 26 meeting.
- 4. Important Dates:
 - a. The next Council of Deans meeting will be June 19 at 9:00 a.m.
 - b. The Student Convocation will be August 19 at 9:30 a.m. in the Farris Center.
 - c. The Faculty Convocation will be August 21 at 9:30 a.m. in the Ida Waldran Auditorium. The Faculty Excellence Awards will be presented at this ceremony.

The meeting adjourned at 11:38 a.m.