Student Success and Retention Council August 14, 2014 Meeting Minutes

Members present: Ben Rowley, Chad Hearne, Angela Jackson, Susan Sobel, Julia WInden Fey, Jacob Held, Amber Hall.

Members absent: Jonathan Glenn, Ashley Ross, Stephanie McBrayer, Leigh Ann Denhartog, Cheryl Lyons, Nancy Gallavan, Scott Nadler

Guests: Amy Baldwin, Director of University College and Marvin Williams, UCAN Coordinator

Handouts: (1) Graduation and Retention Rates, (2) Remediation Retention Rates, and (3) CARE program from FSU

Winden Fey called the meeting to order at 3:04 pm

Hall made a motion to approve the minutes from the July 10 meeting. Sobel seconded the motion. Motion passed 7 in favor, 0 opposed. Minutes will be posted to the website.

Winden Fey shared a presentation on Success Coaching. A Success Coaching program was proposed in the 2014 UCA Enrollment Management Plan as "UCA Steps". Discussion followed:

- 1. What programs are being used by our peer and aspirant institutions?
- 2. How are mentors different from coaches? Winden Fey explained that mentors are usually poorly compensated undergraduate students. Coaches are professionally trained full time staff.
- 3. Who are the most at risk students? Who is our most reachable student? Winden Fey stated we need to identify students in the gap between the bottom and the average student. Maybe conditional admits with no remediation required.
- 4. What can we afford to do? What (who) is the best return on our investment?
- 5. What is the best model? What is U of A doing?
- 6. How much do we request from SBAC?

Hall shared data on retention rates.

Held suggested pairing UNIV 1100 with FYS for 3 credit hours as a mandatory course for all freshmen. This would require hiring 5 full time faculty. UNIV 1100 use to be a credit bearing course, but the registrar removed the credit hours a few years ago. Council members asked if that change was ever approved by the Undergraduate Council.

Winden Fey suggested the council form an ad hoc committee to develop a recommendation for SBAC. The ad hoc committee will include: Marvin Williams, Amy Baldwin, Leigh Ann Denhartog, Angela Jackson, Jacob Held and Julia Winden Fey.

The meeting adjourned at 4:05 p.m.