Strategic Planning Committee October 6, 2016 Meeting Minutes

Members present: Tammy Rogers (Chair), Kurt Boniecki, Taine Duncan, Michael Rubach, Erica Ruble, Kelsey Broaddrick, Bryce Woods, Jonathan Glenn, Steve Runge, Brad Teague, and Donna Bowman.

Members absent: Kaye McKinzie, John Fincher, Phillip Bailey, Kevin Carter, Carmesha Jemerson

Recording secretary: Suzanne Massey

The meeting was called to order at 1:40 pm

Order of Business:

- 1. Approval of Minutes
 - a. Several corrections were made to the draft of the minutes. Dr. Rubach made a motion to approve with corrections. Dr. Teague seconded the motion. Discussion followed. Motion passed, all in favor.
- 2. Report from Working Group
 - Dr. Glenn explained the recommendation from the working group to shift the current alignment of units/departments/offices/programs goals and reporting from the six strategic goals of the 2011 UCA Strategic Plan to now align with the institutions four core values, common to both the 2011 and 2016 iterations of the strategic plan.
 - b. Members agreed to also include the four SP goals with the four core values. Reporting units may align to one or the other or both.

S. Runge, B. Teague and E. Ruble left at this point of the meeting

- 3. SPC Charge & Procedures Draft Changes
 - a. Dr. Rogers discussed the proposed changes to the Strategic Planning Committee procedures. After a few minor edits, members supported the changes, especially using the term *initiatives* instead of *objectives* since initiatives implies ongoing and continuous improvement.
 - b. The committee will vote on these changes at the November meeting since there wasn't a quorum available to vote (just six voting members present).
- 4. Reporting Mechanisms for SP Funded Items for AY 2017
 - a. Dr. Rogers discussed the recommendations from SBAC for items that are possible but either have no budget or can happen in FY 2017 without additional funding. A working group was established to identify the data inputs, the collection mechanisms and the data source if they are already reporting for funded initiatives and for items that may be progressing because they did not need additional funding. The working group will consist of Kaye McKinzie, Taine Duncan, Donna Bowman, Kelsey Broaddrick and Brandon Combs (the new Director of Assessment starting November 1, 2016). A preliminary report will be presented at the November meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 2:30 pm