Speakers Bureau

The UCA Speakers Bureau spotlights the talented pool of faculty and staff at the university.  The Speakers Bureau is a free public service for civic groups, schools, and non-profit organizations. Contact the university’s Division of University & Government Relations to have a faculty or staff member speak at an event.

National, state and local media can also tap into the university’s pool of experts to gather information on topics such as health care, the economy, education and social issues.

To schedule a speaker contact us at (501) 450-5114 or news@uca.edu. Please contact us four weeks prior to your event so we can help make arrangements and schedules.

College of Business

Dr. Don B. Bradley III
Professor of Marketing and Executive Director of the Small Business Advancement National Center
donb@uca.edu or don.bradley@conwaycorp.net
501.450.5345; 501.450.0192
Topics: Marketing, retailing, small business, entrepreneurship, intermodel transportation, international business, sports marketing and sports management

Dr. Michael B. Hargis
Interim Dean, College of Business
mhargis@uca.edu
501.450.5343
Topics: Human resources management, organizational behavior and management

Anthony McMullen
Visiting Assistant Professor, Department of Accounting
amcmullen@uca.edu
501.852.0695
Topics: Family law, contracts, appellate law, agency and employment

Dr. Tammy Rogers
Interim Chair, Department of Economics, Finance, and Insurance & Risk Management
trogers@uca.edu
501.852.7467
Topics: Entrepreneurship, financial services, personal finance and financial markets

College of Education

Debbie Barnes
Assistant Dean, College of Education
debbieb@uca.edu
501.450.5403
Topics: Mentoring, teacher education, Council for the Accreditation of Education Preparation (CAEP)

Dr. Nancy P. Gallavan
Professor, Department of Teaching and Learning
Ngallavan@uca.edu
501.450.5497
Topics: Performance.based assessments, cultural competence, social studies education, geoliteracy, teacher self-efficacy and teacher reflectivity

Michael Mills
Assistant Professor, Department of Teaching and Learning
mmills@uca.edu
501.590.4823
Topics: Educational technology, collaborative use of technology and mobile device implementation

Dr. Patty H. Phelps
Professor and Director of Instructional Development Center
pattyp@uca.edu
501.450.5539
Topics: Teacher leadership and faculty development

Dr. Diana G Pounder
Dean, College of Education
dianap@uca.edu
501.450.3175
Topics: Educational leadership with emphasis on human resource administration

College of Fine Arts & Communication

Christian Carichner
Assistant Professor, Department of Music
Ccarichner@uca.edu
501.450.5759
Topics: Art entrepreneurship, arts injury prevention and recovery, marching band, drum and bugle corps and general music

Joe Dull
Associate Professor, Department of Mass Communication and Theatre
jdull@uca.edu
501.852.2377
Topics: General filmmaking, documentary filmmaking and film editing

Bruce Hutchinson
Director, Graduate Studies of Digital Filmmaking
bruceh@uca.edu
501.450.3419
Topics: Film production, movies, cinema and filmmaking in Arkansas

Sandra Luckett
Assistant Professor, Department of Art
sandral@uca.edu
501.450.5844; 804.221.8990
Topics: Careers in fine arts and studio arts

Scott Meador
Assistant Professor, Department of Mass Communication and Theatre
wsmeador@uca.edu
501.450.3162
Topics: Computer graphics, digital filmmaking, new media, visual effects, visualization, high.end computing and animation

Dr. Amy Hawkins
Assistant Professor, Department of Communication
aamy@uca.edu
501.450.5602
Topics: Organizational leadership, organizational culture, public relations management, public relations campaigns, communication ethics, communication training and executive coaching

Garry Craig Powell
Associate Professor, Department of Writing
gpowell@uca.edu
501.450.5872
Topics: Creative writing, women, politics and literature in the Islamic world

College of Health and Behavioral Sciences

Dr. Joan Simon
Associate Professor, Psychology & Counseling Department
Licensed Psychologist
jsimon@uca.edu
501.450.5411
Topics: Bullying, school-wide academic/behavioral intervention, educational program evaluation, school psychology service delivery, suicide risk assessment, diversity issues

Femina Varghese
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology and Counseling
fbarghese@uca.edu
501.450.5421
Topics: Corrections, vocational development of offenders and cultural diversity

Alexandra Marshall
Assistant Professor, Department of Health Sciences
amarshall@uca.edu
501.852.2654
Topics: Human sexuality, adolescent development, young women’s health issues, health advocacy and bullying of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender youth

Brent Gregg
Assistant Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
bgregg@uca.edu
501.852.2823
Topics: Fluency disorders, stuttering and pediatric speech disorders

Dr. Steve Tucker
Interim Chair, Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education
stucker@uca.edu
501.852.7749
Topics: Treatment and prevention of chronic shoulder injuries

Stephen D. Hornor
Clinical Instructor I, Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education
shornor@uca.edu
501.450.5106
Topics: Athletic training, sports medicine, care of athletic injuries and drug testing

Lisa K. Ray
Clinical Instructor II, Department of Health Sciences
lray@uca.edu
501.450.5736
Topics: Treatment and prevention of addictive disorders including substance use and gambling

Charlotte Yates
Assistant Professor, Department of Physical Therapy
cyates@uca.edu
501.450.5542
Topics: Pediatric physical therapy and neonatal pain

Kathryn Bayles
Chair, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Kbayles@uca.edu
501.852.0696
Topics: Alzheimer’s dementia, stroke and aphasia, Minimal Cognitive Impairment (MCI), traumatic brain injury, cognition and memory and intercultural communication

College of Liberal Arts

Jacob Held
Associate Professor, Department of Philosophy and Religion
jmheld@uca.edu
501.450.3634
Topics: Legal and political philosophy, 19th century German philosophy, Marx and Marxism, ethics, applied ethics, American Indian jurisprudence, pornography and philosophy of law.

Jay Ruud
Chair, Department of English
jruud@uca.edu
501.450.3674
Topics: King Arthur and legends of the Knights of the Round Table, Leif Ericksson and the Viking discovery of America 3, the history of the English  language (including Old English, Middle English and Early Modern English), J.R.R. Tolkien, Joan of Arc, Medieval literature in general, including Chaucer and Dante

Kenneth C Barnes
Chair, Department of History
kennethb@uca.edu
501.450.5631
Topics: Modern Germany, modern European social and intellectual history, history of Christianity, German church history during the Nazi period and late nineteenth-century Arkansas

Roger Pauly
Associate Professor and Assistant Chair, Department of History
rpauly@uca.edu
501.450.5618
Topics: Geo-political world history, historical leadership, Arkansas health, civil war, firearms and Faulkner County

Phillip Spivey
Lecturer II, Department of Philosophy and Religion
pspivey@uca.edu
501.450.3690
Topics: Judaism, world religions, history of philosophy, ethics, religion and the American South

College of Natural Sciences & Mathematics

Vamsi Paruchuri
Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science
vparuchuri@uca.edu
501.852.8537
Topics: Computer science, computer networks, computer security and computer science education

Lori Isom
Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry
Lorii@uca.edu
501.450.5794
Topics: Molecular detailed understanding of how human bodies and other living organisms work, the causes and effects of various diseases and disorders, how prescription and elicit drugs act in the human body, the way the human immune system and infectious agents work, vaccines and structures of biomolecules

Michael Yoder
Associate Professor, Department of Geography
myoder@uca.edu
501.450.5638
Topics: Economic Development of small cities in Arkansas, cargo-related transportation infrastructure in Arkansas, suburbanization in the U.S. and in Mexico, transportation infrastructure in Mexico and economic development of Mexico

Other experts

Dr. Bob Reising
Evening Supervisor, Academic Success Center
rreising@uca.edu
501.852.2265
Topics: Writing biographies and biographical essays: strategies and suggestions for success

Shelley Mehl
Vice President for Institutional Advancement and President of the UCA Foundation
shelleym@uca.edu
501.450.3127
Topics: Giving, scholarships, alumni relations, non-profit management and fundraising

Dr. James (“Jim”) P. Guinee
Staff Psychologist and Coordinator of Training Center Director of Training
jamesg@uca.edu
501.450.3138
Topics: Communication and conflict resolution, dream interpretation, ethics, supervision and training, religious issues, mental health, and all mental health topics

Amy Whitehead
Coordinator, Center for Community and Economic Development
amyw@uca.edu
501.852.2930
Topics: Community development, economic development, rural development

Charlotte Strickland
Professional Development and Training Coordinator
chars@uca.edu
501.450.5470
Topics: Leadership, teamwork, communication, diversity, customer service, motivation, supervisory skills and conflict resolution

Paul Crosmer
Director of Engineering Systems
pcrosmer@uca.edu
501.450.3610
Topics: Effective campus energy conservation tactics, district cooling system design and operation, effective use of direct digital control systems to manage energy and maintain comfort and energy efficient lighting strategies

Jimmy Bryant
Director of Archives & Special Collections
Jimmyb@uca.edu
501.450.3418
Topics: General UCA history and history of the women’s Army Corps Branch #3 at UCA