Arkansas Model United Nations (AMUN) conference – November 18-19, 2011

The 46th Arkansas Model United Nations (AMUN) Conference was held at UCA on November 18-19, 2011.  Thomas Willis Arnold, International Studies major in the UCA Department of Political Science, served as AMUN Secretary-General and Dr. Mark Mullenbach,  Associate Professor in the UCA Department of Political Science, served as Coordinator of the AMUN Conference. During the Opening Session, Dr. Clea Bunche of the Department of History at the University of Arkansas-Little Rock gave the keynote address.  Ali Rajab, who graduated with a bachelor’s degree in International Studies from the UCA Department of Political Science in May 2010, also spoke during the Opening Session.

Committee chairs included Tyler Bittle (Special Political Committee), Thomas Kibwana (Social & Humanitarian Committee), Jake Logan (Economic & Finance Committee), Jeffery Montgomery (Legal Committee), Sam Tamo (Security Council), Naruhiko Tsukuda (Economic & Social Council), and Megan Parrish (Human Rights Council).  During the Closing Session, the “Outstanding Delegation” award was presented to the United Kingdom delegation (Pope John Paul II High School, Hendersonville, TN).