Initial Licensure Programs

NOTE: Program requirements are subject to change.  Verify with your advisor that the information below is the most up-to-date.

 

Elementary Education

René Crow, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5442
Email:  rcrow@uca.edu

K-6 Elementary Education

Middle Level Education

Steve Ward, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5475
Email:  wards@uca.edu

4-8 Language Arts/Social Studies
4-8 Mathematics/Science
4-8 Language Arts/Mathematics
4-8 Science/Language Art
4-8 Mathematics/Social Studies
4-8 Social Studies/Science

Secondary Education

Some undergraduate programs will complete the Teaching and Learning minor. This 20-hour minor in Teaching and Learning provides the professional education courses needed by students seeking secondary education licensure in content areas. For more information, speak with your academic advisor or refer to the Undergraduate Bulletin by clicking here.

ART
Deborah Kuster, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5785
Email:  dkuster@uca.edu

K-12 Art Education

ENGLISH/LANGUAGE ARTS
Melissa Smith, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5124
Email:  mjsmith@uca.edu

7-12 English/Language Arts

FAMILY AND CONSUMER SCIENCES
Renee Ryburn, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-3101
Email:  rryburn@uca.edu

7-12 Family and Consumer Sciences

WORLD LANGUAGES
Sherrie Ray-Treviño, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-4648
Email:  saray@uca.edu

K-12 Spanish
K-12 French

MUSIC EDUCATION
Sheri Cook-Cunningham, Program Coordinator (Vocal Music)
(501) 450-5756
Email:  scookcunningham@uca.edu

K-12 Vocal Music
K-12 Piano/Vocal

Jason Gossett, Program Coordinator (Instrumental Music)
(501) 450-5756
Email:  jgossett@uca.edu

K-12 Instrumental Music
K-12 Piano/Instrumental

SOCIAL STUDIES/HISTORY
Pat Ramsey, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-3215
Email:  pramsey@uca.edu

7-12 Social Studies/History

PHYSICAL EDUCATION AND HEALTH
Suzi Wilcox, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5701
Email: swilcox@uca.edu

K-12 Physical Education/Health

Mathematics and Science (UCA STEMteach)

To add a teaching license to your mathematics or science major, complete the STEM Education minor.  Completing this minor plus a content degree in mathematics or science is the coursework needed for an Arkansas teaching license.  For more information, refer to the STEM Education Minor section of the Undergraduate Bulletin.

7-12 MATHEMATICS
Linda Griffith, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5667
Email:  lindag@uca.edu

Mathematics, Pure Math Track
Mathematics, Applied Math Track
Mathematics, Education Track

7-12 PHYSICAL SCIENCE

You may add the STEM Education minor to any of the following majors:
Physics, Physical Science track (or any other Physics track)
Chemistry (or any other Chemistry track)
General Science - Option B
Environmental Science, Chemistry Track

7-12 LIFE SCIENCE

You may add the STEM Education minor to any of the following majors:
Biology
General Science - Option A
Environmental Science, Biology Track

Graduate Level Initial Licensure

MASTER OF ARTS IN TEACHING (MAT)
Amy Thompson, Program Coordinator
(501) 852-0891
Email:  athompson@uca.edu

For more information about the MAT program, click here.