Undergraduate Initial Licensure Programs

K-6 Elementary Education

Dan Barrington, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5476
Email:  danb@uca.edu

K-12 Special Education

Patty Kohler-Evans, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5444
Email:  pattyk@uca.edu

4-8 Middle Level Education

Candidates in middle level education (grades 4-8) will select any two of the four core content areas:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Social Studies

Steve Ward, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5475
Email:  wards@uca.edu

K-12 Education Programs

K-12 ART
Deborah Kuster, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5785
Email:  dkuster@uca.edu

K-12 WORLD LANGUAGES
(Spanish, French, Chinese)

Suzanne Johnston, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-3433
Email:  sjohnston4@uca.edu

K-12 VOCAL MUSIC EDUCATION
Christa Kuebel, Program Coordinator
(501) 852-0164
Email:  ckuebel1@uca.edu

K-12 INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC EDUCATION
Jennifer Hawkinson, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5756
Email:  jhawkinson@uca.edu

K-12 PHYSICAL EDUCATION AND HEALTH
Sean Engle, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5707
Email: sengle@uca.edu

7-12 Secondary Education

7-12 ENGLISH/LANGUAGE ARTS
Melissa Smith, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5124
Email:  mjsmith@uca.edu

7-12 FAMILY AND CONSUMER SCIENCES
Renee Ryburn, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-3101
Email:  rryburn@uca.edu

7-12 SOCIAL STUDIES/HISTORY
Hillary Anderson, Program Coordinator
(501) 852-7741
Email: handerson7@uca.edu

7-12 Mathematics & Science

To add a teaching license to your mathematics or science major, complete the STEM Education minor.  Completing this minor plus a content degree in mathematics or science is the coursework needed for an Arkansas teaching license.  For more information, refer to the STEM Education Minor section in the Undergraduate Bulletin.

7-12 MATHEMATICS
Charles Watson, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5681
Email:  charlesw@uca.edu

7-12 SCIENCES (biology/chemistry/physics)
Michelle Buchanan, Program Coordinator
(501) 852-1050
Email:  mbuchanan@uca.edu