Initial Licensure Programs

K-6 Elementary Education

Dan Barrington, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5476
Email:  danb@uca.edu

K-12 Special Education

Patty Kohler-Evans, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5444
Email:  pattyk@uca.edu

Middle Level Education

Steve Ward, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5475
Email:  wards@uca.edu

Secondary Education

Some undergraduate programs will complete the Teaching and Learning minor. This 18-hour minor in Teaching and Learning provides the professional education courses needed by students seeking secondary education licensure in content areas. For more information, speak with your academic advisor or refer to the Undergraduate Bulletin by clicking here.

ART
Deborah Kuster, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5785
Email:  dkuster@uca.edu

ENGLISH/LANGUAGE ARTS
Melissa Smith, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5124
Email:  mjsmith@uca.edu

FAMILY AND CONSUMER SCIENCES
Renee Ryburn, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-3101
Email:  rryburn@uca.edu

WORLD LANGUAGES
Phillip Bailey, Department Chair
(501) 450-5645
Email:  phillipb@uca.edu

MUSIC EDUCATION
Sheri Cook-Cunningham. Program Coordinator (Vocal Music)
(501) 450-5756
Email:  scookcunningham@uca.edu

Carrie Martens, Program Coordinator (Instrumental Music)
(501) 852-0164
Email:  cmartens@uca.edu

SOCIAL STUDIES/HISTORY
Pat Ramsey, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-3215
Email:  pramsey@uca.edu

PHYSICAL EDUCATION AND HEALTH
Sean Engle, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5707
Email: sengle@uca.edu

Mathematics and Science (STEMteach)

To add a teaching license to your mathematics or science major, complete the STEM Education minor.  Completing this minor plus a content degree in mathematics or science is the coursework needed for an Arkansas teaching license.  For more information, refer to the STEM Education Minor section of the Undergraduate Bulletin.

7-12 MATHEMATICS
James Fetterly, Program Coordinator
(501) 450-5659
Email:  jfetterly@uca.edu

7-12 SCIENCES (biology/chemistry/physics)
Michelle Buchanan, Program Coordinator
(501) 852-1050
Email:  mbuchanan@uca.edu

Graduate Level Initial Licensure

MASTER OF ARTS IN TEACHING (MAT)
Amy Thompson, Program Coordinator
(501) 852-0891
Email:  athompson@uca.edu

For more information about the MAT program, click here.