Former lawmaker donates papers to UCA

NOVEMBER 11, 2013
CONTACT: Jeff Pitchford, vice president for university and government relations, at or (501) 450-3185.
Fredricka Sharkey, associate director for media relations, at or (501) 450 -5114.
Jimmy Bryant, director of archives and special collections, at or (501)- 450-3418.


CONWAY—Former Arkansas State Representative Betty Pickett has donated her collection of materials to the University of Central Arkansas Archives. Pickett plans to visit the archives on Monday, November 11 at 2 p.m.

PICKETT-0022According to Jimmy Bryant, director of archives and special collections, Pickett’s collection contains information about Arkansas education matters including agendas, staff recommendations, working papers for developing standards-based education, and papers that pertain to the Arkansas Supreme Court ruling that Arkansas must provide an adequate education in Arkansas Schools. Additionally, the collection contains documents related to the Bureau of Legislative Affairs and working papers on legislation Pickett introduced.

Bryant said he was happy that Pickett chose the UCA Archives to house her collection of materials. Bryant said her collection will be ready for researchers in spring 2014.

Pickett served for six years in the Arkansas House of Representatives and represented District 45 in Faulkner County from 2002 to 2008. She served on many committees including the Arkansas House of Representatives Education Committee.

She was a member of the Arkansas State Board of Education from 1995 to 2002 and served as chair from 1998 to 1999. In addition, she was a member of the board of directors of the National Association of State Boards of Education from 1997 to 1998. Representative Pickett has a long career of public service and served on the Faulkner County Quorum Court, Faulkner County United Way, the Commission for Arkansas’s Future, the Committee for a Modern Judiciary, the Conway Civil Service Commission and the Faulkner County DWI Task Force. She is a past president of the League of Women Voters of Arkansas and former chairperson of the Conway Blue Ribbon Commission.