Committee Members

The University Safety Committee is an advisory group charged to identify and help address safety conditions on the UCA campus. The committee’s charge:

  • To recommend to the Vice President for Finance and Administration services policies that ensure an environment free from unreasonable risk, thereby reducing the number and severity of occupational illnesses and injuries.
  • To serve as a resource for the various administrative units on campus, assisting them in the identification and correction of unsafe conditions or practices in their areas.
  • To serve as the coordinating body in monitoring compliance with safety regulations.
  • To recommend to the Vice President for Finance and Administration services expenditures necessary to achieve the university’s safety goals.

The Vice President for Finance and Administration, Medical Director of Student Health Services, Chief of Police, Associate Vice President/Admin. Services/Human Resources, Associate General Counsel, Director of Physical Plant, Director of Environmental Health and Safety, Director of Housing and Residence Life and the committee secretary will serve as permanent members.  One faculty member appointed by the Faculty Senate, two staff members appointed by the Staff Senate, one student member appointed by the Student Government Association will serve. Faculty members will serve four-year terms, staff members will serve two-year terms, and student members will serve one-year terms.  The Director of Organizational and Community Services, Research Compliance Coordinator, hazardous chemical expert from the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, Insurance Manager, and Associate Director of Media Relations will serve in an ex-officio capacity.  The chair is appointed by the president and the secretary is elected by the committee.

Current members are:

V.P. of Finance and Administration
Diane Newton
dnewton@uca.edu

Director of Physical Plant
Larry Lawrence
larryl@uca.edu

Environmental Health and Safety
Nelson Landers
nlanders@uca.edu

General Counsel
Warren Readnour
wreadnour@uca.edu

Compliance Officer
Mindy Pipkin
mpipkin@uca.edu

Associate Director of Housing
Joe Hooker
jhooker@uca.edu

Physical Plant HVAC/ Elec.
Dennis Strom
denniss@uca.edu

Student Health Services
Rochelle McFerguson
rmcferguson@uca.edu

Student Health Services
Randy Pastor
rpastor@uca.edu

Police Chief
John Merguie
jmerguie@uca.edu

Captain Police Dept.
Chris Bentley
chrisb@uca.edu

V.P. Human Resources
Graham Gillis
ggillis@uca.edu

Director of Housing
Stephanie McBrayer
smcbrayer@uca.edu

Insurance
Kim Hutchcraft
kimh@uca.edu

Faculty Senate
Sherry Skaggs
sskaggs@uca.edu

Staff Senate
Jason Davis
jasondavis@uca.edu

Staff Senate
Kristin Jetts
kjetts@uca.edu

Student Government – TBA

UCA Police Dept.
Tyler Lachowsky
tlachowsky1@uca.edu

Chemical Hygiene – Chemistry Dept.
Mason Hart
mhart@uca.edu