Everyone who purchases a car in the US, or plans to drive a car, must obtain an Arkansas driver’s license. Here are the requirements for getting a license:
1. Study the Arkansas driver’s license manual. This manual explains all the traffic laws and regulations of the State of Arkansas. You can pick this up at the Arkansas Revenue Office. It can also be downloadedhere.
2. Study the Manual and take the written portion of the driver’s test. The test is offered on Monday and Tuesday mornings beginning at 8:00 a.m. at the Faulkner County Library (1900 Tyler Street, Conway).
- DO NOT be late. The exam begins exactly at 8:00 a.m.
- You will need to take your original passport, I-20 and I-94 card with you for identification.
3. If you pass the written test, you will be given a “Learner’s permit”. This will allow you to drive with another licensed driver (over the age of 21) in the vehicle with you. You do not have permission to drive alone yet. You will keep this permit for a minimum of 30 days. There is no fee for the written test.
If you do not pass the written test, you can take it again as many times as you like. It’s not unusual for people to fail the written test the first time they take it.
4. After 30 days from the date you receive your learner’s permit, you must return to the Faulkner Country Library to take a driving test. You will be asked to drive a short distance with an evaluator in the car with you. The driving test is given at 8:00 a.m. at the Faulkner County Library.
- DO NOT be late. Only a certain number of people can take the test each day
- Do not drive alone to the library to take this test! You are not a licensed driver yet!
- You must have a friend drive you there that will allow you to drive their car for this test.
- The friend must show proof of ownership of the vehicle and proof of current automobile insurance and the car must be clean.
5. When you pass the driving portion of the test, you will return to the Arkansas Revenue Department where you will receive your official Arkansas driver’s license!! Be sure to take your passport, I-20 and I-94 card with you when you go.
YOU ARE NOW AN ARKANSAS DRIVER!