GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES Thursday, February 18, 2016

The Graduate Council met electronically on February 18, 2016. The following members participated: Stephanie Bellar, Alexander Chen, Thomas Deatherage, Janet Filer, John Gale, Brent Hill, Terry James, R.B. Lenin, Wendy Lucas, Rhonda McClellan, Mark McMurtrey, Letha Mosley, Arijit Mukherjee, Michael Rosenow, Joan Simon, Mark Spitzer, Stephanie Vanderslice and Stephanie Watson.

Members not participating: Mason Buerer, Art Gillaspy, and Lori Leavell.

Action Items:

- 1. Graduate Council Minutes of January 21, 2016 minutes were approved with three abstentions.
- 2. Subcommittee III Chair, Terry James, recommended approval a new course ENGL 5325 Special Topics in Postcolonial Literature. *Vote to approve was unanimous*.
- 3. Subcommittee I Chair, Rhonda McClellan, recommended approval of an Early Childhood track for the MS in Advanced Studies in Teacher Leadership (ASTL) program. *Vote to approve was unanimous*.
- 4. Subcommittee I Chair, Rhonda McClellan, recommended approval of a Dyslexia track for the MS in ASTL program. *Vote to approve was unanimous*.
- 5. Subcommittee II Chair, R.B. Lenin, recommended approval to delete the two-year full time teaching experience component from program completion requirements for the MS in ASTL program. *Vote to approve was unanimous*.

Information Items:

- 1. ASTL 5311 change course title from Career Orientation to Methods of Teaching Career Development
- 2. NURS 6260 change course title from Directed NP Practicum: Adult to Clinical Immersion for Adult/Gerontology Nurse Practitioner. Remove NURS 6521as a prerequisite for NURS 6260 and NURS 6V60. Add NURS 6511 and 6512 as prerequisites for NURS 6260 and NURS 6V60.
- 3. Graduate Faculty Appointments
 - a. Ms. Donna D. Cain, ELSE, initial associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - b. Mr. Ryan Caststeel, MBA, continued affiliated Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - c. Dr. Alexander Chen, MBA, continued full Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - d. Dr. Brittany Daulton, PSYC, initial affiliated Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - e. Dr. Michael Hargis, MBA, continued full Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - f. Ms. Lisa L. Herrington, ELSE, initial associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - g. Dr. Michael Douglas Voss, MBA, continued full Graduate Faculty (8 years)

Announcements:

The next regular meeting of the Graduate Council will be March 17, 2016 in Wingo 315 during x-period.