## GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES Thursday, September 18, 2014 Wingo 315 1:40 p.m.

The Graduate Council met on September 18, 2014. The following members participated: Stephanie Bellar, Noel Campbell, Ben Cash, Janet Filer, John Gale, Art Gillaspy, Bruce Hutchinson, Terry James, R. B. Lenin, Wendy Lucas, Rhonda McClellan, Letha Mosley, Arijit Mukherjee and Michael Schaefer.

Members absent were Mark McMurtrey, Tom Oxner and Joan Simon.

## Action Items:

- 1. Approval of Graduate Council Minutes of June 16, 2014.
- 2. Dr. Wendy Lucas was elected secretary for the Graduate Council for 2014-2015.
- 3. Dr. Stephanie Bellar requested nominations for a student representative to the Graduate Council. Two students, Stephanie Sans and Diane Wolfe, were nominated. Dr. Bellar will contact Faculty Senate to determine if they would like to appoint one of these nominees as their student representative.
- 4. The following were appointed to the UAMS/UALR/UCA Joint Graduate Council: Janet Filer, Art Gillaspy, Rhonda McClellan and Joan Simon.
- 5. The following were appointed to the McLauchlin Scholarship Review Committee: Noel Campbell, Bruce Hutchinson, Terry James, R.B. Lenin and Rhonda McClellan.
- 6. The following were appointed to the Graduate Council Policy Subcommittee: Janet Filer, John Gale, Rhonda McClellan and Mike Schaefer.
- 7. Subcommittee III, Terry James, Chair, recommended approval of new concentration: M.A. in English with Medieval and Renaissance Literature emphasis. *Vote to approve was unanimous*.
- 8. Subcommittee III, Terry James, Chair, recommended approval of the following new courses
  - a. ENGL 6337 Arkansas Shakespeare Theatre Intensive Internship
  - b. ENGL 6336 Texts and Manuscripts

*Vote to approve was unanimous.* 

- 9. Letha Mosley, Chair of Subcommittee I, recommended tabling consideration of the following new courses as the original proposals have been revised and resubmitted
  - a. MBA 5341 Quantitative Analytical Methods
  - b. MBA 5355 Project Management

*Vote to table the items until the next meeting was unanimous.* 

10. Ben Cash, Chair of Subcommittee II, recommended approval of new course MUS 5014 Graduate Latin Diction Review.

Vote to approve was unanimous.

- 11. Ben Cash, Chair of Subcommittee II, recommended approval of changes to admission requirements for Master of Music (MM) degree. The change adds diction and comprehension exams in Latin for the concentration in Choral Conducting.

  Vote to approve was unanimous.
- 12. Ben Cash, Chair of Subcommittee II, recommended approval of changes to the M.S. in Health Science comprehensive examination policy. The changes include: 1) replacing notification of intent to take the exam "by letter" language to submitting a request "via email" and, 2) replacing exam restrictions relating to the number of C's in the program and number of hours completed with just the completion of required core courses.

Vote to approve was unanimous.

## Information Items:

- 1. Dr. Bellar initiated discussions regarding issues to be reviewed in the coming year. Topics included petition for candidacy, DegreeWorks and graduate student recruitment.
- 2. Dr. Bellar requested the programs review their publicity material, websites, program guidebooks, and language in the Graduate Bulletin for consistency across the publications and to ensure compliance with UCA policy.
- 3. Dr. Bellar stated that if a committee member is unable to attend a meeting, they will need to send a substitute with graduate faculty status from their college to act as a proxy.
- 4. Graduate Faculty Appointments
  - a. Dr. Sheri Cook-Cunningham, MUS, initial full Graduate Faculty (3 years)
  - b. Ms. Traci Elliff, NURS, initial associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
  - c. Dr. Kristen Epps, HIST, initial full Graduate Faculty (3 years)
  - d. Ms. Jennifer Gerber, MCOM, initial affiliated Graduate Faculty (3 years)
  - e. Dr. Lance Grahn, HIST, initial full Graduate Faculty (3 years)
  - f. Dr. Jackie Gray, NURS, initial affiliated Graduate Faculty (3 years)
  - g. Ms. Leeann Howard, ECSE, continued associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
  - h. Dr. Linda Hsu, MUS, continued full Graduate Faculty (8 years)
  - i. Dr. Jackie Lamar, MUS, continued full Graduate Faculty (8 years)
  - j. Dr. Heather Martens, PSYC, initial full Graduate Faculty (3 years)
  - k. Dr. Towino Paramby, CSD, initial full Graduate Faculty (3 years)
  - 1. Ms. Mary Sue Passe-Smith, GEOG, continuing associate Graduate Faculty (8 years)
  - m. Dr. Mary Pearson, ECSE, continuing full Graduate Faculty (3 years)
  - n. Dr. Richard Scott, SOC, initial associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
  - o. Dr. Brent A. Shires, MUS, continuing full Graduate Faculty (8 years)

## Announcements:

- 1. Letha Mosley announced this year's recipients of the Robert McLauchlin Graduate Education Memorial Scholarships: Holly Franchett and Ella Crouch.
- 2. Next meeting of the Graduate Council will be held Thursday, October 23, 2014 in the Student Center, Room 223.