GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES Thursday, June 16, 2014

The Graduate Council met electronically on June 16, 2014. The following members participated: Jeff Allender, Gary Bunn, Jane Dahlenburg, Janet Filer, Bruce Hutchinson, Terry James, R. B. Lenin, Gary McCullough, Mark McMurtrey, Letha Mosley, Vamsi Paruchuri, Tammy Rogers, Nina Roofe, Stephanie San, Michael Schaefer, and Barbara Williams. Not participating: Jacklyn Austin, Kenneth Barnes, Noel Campbell, Ben Cash, Scott Payne, and Terry Singh.

Action Items:

- 1. Graduate Council Minutes of April 21, 2014 were approved.
- 2. (Subcommittee II, Gary Bunn, acting Chair, recommended approval of the department name change from Early Childhood and Special Education (ECSE) to Elementary, Literacy, and Special Education. *Vote to approve was unanimous*.
- 3. Subcommittee I, Letha Mosley, Chair, recommended approval of a change in the total credit hour requirement from 18 to 21 for the District Administration Post-Master's certificate (PMC) with the addition of EDLP 6324 Facilities Planning and Administration as a required course. *Vote to approve was unanimous*.
- 4. Subcommittee III, Terry James, Chair, recommended approval of the addition of PSYC 6350 History of Psychology as a required course to the PhD. School Psychology- Counseling Psychology emphasis program.

Vote to approve was unanimous.

Information Items:

- 1. Change the following required courses to electives in the PhD. School Psychology- Counseling Psychology emphasis program:
 - a. PSYC 7330 Research and Grant Writing
 - b. PSYC 8315 Child Mental Health Promotion and Primary Prevention
- 2. Graduate Faculty Appointments
 - a. Mr. Noah Hansen, OTHY, initial affiliated Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - b. Ms. Elizabeth LeQuieu, OTHY, initial associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - c. Mr. Paul Montrose, MIS, initial affiliated Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - d. Dr. Jennifer Moore, OTHY, continued full Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - e. Mr. Christopher Ryan, OTHY, initial affiliated Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - f. Ms. Brittany Saviers, OTHY, initial associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - g. Dr. David Stearns, OTHY, initial associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)

<u>Announcements</u>: Next meeting of the Graduate Council is scheduled to be held Thursday, September 18, 2014.