GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES Thursday, October 23, 2014 Student Center 223 1:40 p.m.

The Graduate Council met on October 23 2014. The following members participated: Jaclyn Austin, Stephanie Bellar, Noel Campbell, Ben Cash, Ramon Escamilla, Janet Filer, Art Gillaspy, Bruce Hutchinson, R.B. Lenin, Wendy Lucas, Rhonda McClellan, Letha Mosley, Mark McMurtrey, Arijit Mukherjee, Tom Oxner, Michael Schaefer and Joan Simon.

Members absent were John Gale, Terry James, and Michael Rosenow.

Action Items:

- 1. Graduate Council Minutes of September 18, 2014 were approved.
- 2. Ballots were collected to elect the Graduate Council's student representative. Stephanie San was selected.
- 3. Ben Cash, Chair of Subcommittee II asked for a change in order of the agenda to allow the new courses to be acted on prior to the decision about the concentration. There was unanimous agreement to the request.
- 4. Letha Mosley, Chair of Subcommittee I, recommended approval of the following new courses:
 - a. MBA 5341 Quantitative Analytical Methods
 - b. MBA 5355 Project Management
 - c. MBA 5361 Principles of Information Security

Vote to approve was unanimous.

5. Ben Cash, Chair of Subcommittee II recommended approval of the Master of Business Administration (MBA) new concentration: Information Management. *Vote to approve was unanimous.*

Information Items:

- 1. MBA 6301 course title change from Decision Modeling in Information Systems to Information Technology for Managers
- 2. Course Conversion to Electronic Delivery: MBA 5345 Governance of the Sustainable Organization
- 3. Discussion topics:
 - a. Jacyln Austin said she would open a dedicated email for communication related to graduate students, Graduate Council, and graduate student representation on SGA. She also announced there were additional openings for graduate students on SGA.
 - b. There were questions related to each program having a culminating experience (thesis)/project/capstone course.
 - c. There was discussion on admission criteria, particularly the use of the GRE or other standardized test as a university policy.
- 4. Graduate Faculty Appointments
 - a. Dr. Gianetta Adams, BIOL, continued full Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - b. Dr. Barbara Clancy, BIOL, continued full Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - c. Dr. Denise Demers, HSCI, initial associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - d. Dr. Sally Entrekin, BIOL, continued full Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - e. Dr. Mindy Farris, BIOL, initial full Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - f. Dr. Matthew Gifford, BIOL, initial full Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - g. Dr. Carla Gilbreath, HSCI, initial associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - h. Mr. Steven Karafit, BIOL, initial affiliate Graduate Faculty (3 years)

- i. Dr. Sunjung Kim, CSD, initial full Graduate Faculty (3 years)
- j. Dr. Calin Marian, BIOL, initial full Graduate Faculty (3 years)
- k. Dr. Kari Naylor, BIOL, continued full Graduate Faculty (8 years)
- 1. Dr. Richard Noyes, BIOL, continuing full Graduate Faculty (8 years)
- m. Dr. Jeffrey Padberg, BIOL, continuing full Graduate Faculty (8 years)
- n. Dr. Gail Robertson, MUS, initial associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
- o. Dr. Richard Scott, SOC, initial associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
- p. Dr. Marc Sestir, PSYC, initial full Graduate Faculty (3 years)
- q. Dr. Donald Shepard, BIOL, initial full Graduate Faculty (3 years)
- r. Dr. Laurie Warren, BIOL, continuing associate Graduate Faculty (8 years)

Announcements:

1. Next meeting of the Graduate Council will be held Thursday, November 20, 2014 in Wingo 315 during X period.